Rule 2 Questions from 1992 to 2007

The questions and answers shown below are from SCHSL exams from the last 16 years. It is possible that there may be typos and/or an incorrect answer or two. If you should detect any problems, please let us know by emailing us at exam@district3hoops.com . Clicking on the "+" sign will reveal the correct answer.

Contract All | Expand All
1. The officials arrive on the floor 20 minutes prior to the start of the game. Ruling: The officials' jurisdiction will begin 15 minutes prior to the start of the game.
1. False - Section 2 Article 2

2. The officials' jurisdiction begins 15 minutes before the game is scheduled to start.
2. False - Section 2 Article 2

3. The officials' jurisdiction extends through periods when the game may be momentarily stopped for any reason.
3. True - Section 2 Article 3

4. The jurisdiction of the officials is terminated and the final score has been approved when the referee leaves the visual confines of the playing area.
4. False - Section 2 Article 4

5. Team A leads by one point with two seconds left in the game. Bl releases the ball on a try. The noise level is too great for the covering official to hear the horn. He signals the basket good. The referee definitely hears the horn before the shot but does not see the umpire signal good. They both run off the court to the dressing room. Ruling: Team B wins by one.
5. True - Section 2 Article 4

6. Immediately following the horn to end the fourth quarter, the officials are moving off the court toward dressing room. The referee enters the door and is in the hallway to the locker room, but one of umpires is still in the court area when he/she notices the scorer frantically trying to get the officials attention due to a possible score problem. Ruling: Since the referee left the visual confines of the playing area, the game jurisdiction has ended.
6. False - Section 2 Article 4 (Case Book 2.2.4 sit b)

7. The score is Team A - 62 and Team B - 61 when the horn sounds to end the 4th quarter. Prior to the referee's approval of the final score, the coach of Team A directs obscene gestures at the officials. Ruling: The game is over and no technical foul(s) can be called.
7. False - Section 2 Article 4 (Case Book 2.2.4 sit a) - 2005

8. Once the officials leave the visual confines of the playing area, the final score is official and no changes can be made.
8. True - Section 2 Article 4 - 2005

9. The referee can make decisions only on points covered in the rule.
9. False - Section 3

10. The referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rule.
10. True - Section 3

11. Prior to the game, the home team's athletic director informs the officials that the school has purchased a new timing system whereby the game clock is controlled by the game officials via their whistle and a timing pack. Ruling: The device shall not be used unless the state association has approved its use and the game officials have been properly instructed.
11. True - Section 4 Article 3 (Case Book 2.4.3) - 2005

12. The umpires are responsible for having each team notified three minutes before each half is to begin.
12. False - Section 4 Article 4

13. The referee is responsible for notifying each team at least two minutes before each half begins.
13. False - Section 4 Article 4

14. It is the referee's responsibility to have each team notified three minutes before each half is to begin.
14. True - Section 4 Article 4

15. The referee shall decide whether a goal shall count if the officials disagree.
15. True - Section 5 Article 3

16. The referee has the sole authority to forfeit a game.
16. True - Section 5 Article 4

17. The referee shall check and approve the score at the end of each quarter.
17. False - Section 5 Article 7

18. Each official has the authority to set aside or question decisions made by the other officials within the limits of their respective outlined duties.
18. False - Section 6 - 2005

19. The officials shall signal the point value of a free throw and 3-point goal, but not for a 2-point goal.
19. False - Section 7 Article 8

20. Officials should never directly confront fans, rather they should find the game administrator and ask that the problem be addressed.
20. True - Section 8 Article 1 Note

21. The crowd reacts to an official's call by throwing debris onto the court. RULING: The officials should stop the game until the host management resolves the situation and the game can resume in an orderly manner.
21. True - Section 8 Article 1 Note - 2007

22. The official that calls the fifth foul on a player is responsible for notifying the coach of the player's disqualification.
22. True - Section 8 Article 3 & Article 4 (Case Book 2.8.4)

23. It is the responsibility of the official who disqualifies a player to notify the coach.
23. True - Section 8 Article 3 & Article 4 (Case Book 2.8.4)

24. A1 and B1 hit heads in diving for a loose ball and both are injured. In the opinion of the officials A1 was unconscious for a short period of time; however, the coach disagrees and questions the determination. Ruling: As long as the coach accepts responsibility, A1 may continue to play without a physician's written authorization.
24. False - Section 8 Article 5

25. Only the referee shall determine when a player is apparently unconscious.
25. False - Section 8 Article 5

26. Following a violation, the official shall not designate the thrower.
26. True - Section 9 Article 2

27. Correctable errors do not include permitting the wrong team to attempt a throw-in.
27. True - Section 10 Article 1

28. Correctable errors include having more that five squad members participating simultaneously.
28. False - Section 10 Article 1

29. Correctable errors include awarding the ball to the wrong team on an alternating possession throw-in.
29. False - Section 10 Article 1 - 2007

30. Correctable errors include failure to award a merited free throw.
30. True - Section 10 Article 1a

31. Correctable errors include permitting the wrong team to attempt a throw-in.
31. False - Section 10 Article 1a

32. A1 is fouled but is not awarded a one-and-one even though the bonus is in effect. Team A is given a throw-in. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 who is immediately tied up by B1 resulting in a jump, The error in free throws is then discovered. The alternating possession arrow is pointing toward Team B. Ruling: Too late to shoot free throws--B's ball for throw-in.
32. False - Section 10 Article 1a (case book 2.10.1 sit:a - play b)

33. Team A has in-bounded the ball in a situation where A1 should have been awarded a one and one. The error is discovered with A2 in possession but following a situation on the throw-in where B2 intercepted the throw-in but A2 stole it back. Ruling: A1 shoots the one and one with no players on the line. Team A retains the ball at the spot of interruption.
33. True - Section 10 Article 1a & Article 6

34. A1 is fouled and is in the bonus. By error, Team A is awarded a throw-in. A1's throw-in is caught by A2. B1 immediately causes a held ball situation. The arrow indicates it is A's ball. At this point the error is discovered for not awarding the free throws. Ruling: A1 will shoot the free throws with players along the lane and play will resume from the made or missed free throws.
34. True - Section 10 Article 1a & Article 6

35. A1 is fouled but is erroneously not awarded free throws even though the bonus is in effect. Team A is awarded the ball and A1 inbounds the ball to A2 who is tied up by B1 resulting in a held-ball situation. The error is discovered after the held-ball call. The possession arrow is pointing to B's basket. Ruling: The lane is cleared for A1's throws, and play resumes from the point of interruption which is an alternating-possession throw-in.
35. True - Section 10 Article 1a (Case Book 2.10.1 sit a)

36. A1 is fouled but erroneously is not awarded free throws even though the bonus is in effect. Team A is awarded the ball and A1 inbounds the ball to A2 who is tied up by B1 resulting in a held-ball situation. The error is discovered after the held-ball call. The possession arrow is pointing to A's basket. Ruling: The merited free throws are attempted by A1 and play will continue following the last free throw, since Team A had not lost possession between the throw-in and when the error was recognized.
36. True - Section 10 Article 1a / sec 10 Article 6

37. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting a successful try. The successful basket is not observed by the lead official, who made the call, but observed by the trail official, who fails to tell the lead. The officials line up the players and notify them that two free throws will be shot. A1 misses the first free throw and makes the second. Team B inbounds the ball and then commits a violation in the frontcourt. At this time, the officials are notified of the failure to award the made basket. RULING: Award A1 two points for the uncounted basket and remove the made free throw.
37. True - Section 10 Article 1b & e - 2007

38. A1 is fouled prior to the bonus but erroneously A1 is awarded a one and one. The error is discovered after both free throws are made and after B1 has the ball for the throw-in. Ruling: Free throws stands after B1 has the ball for the throw-in.
38. False - Section 10 Article 1b (Case Book 2.10.1 sit: c - play d)

39. A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awarded a one-and-one. The error is discovered after A1 makes both free throws. Ruling: The successful free throws are canceled. Team A has a designated spot throw-in.
39. True - Section 10 Article 1b (Case Book 2.10.1 sit: c -play b)

40. A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awarded a one-and-one. The error is discovered after A1 makes both free throws. Ruling: The successful free-throws are cancelled, and A1 is given the ball for a throw-in at the spot out of bounds nearest to where B1 fouled originally.
40. True - Section 10 Article 1b (Case Book 2.10.1 sit c - play b) - 2005

41. A1 has been awarded two free throws. Erroneously, the ball is allowed to remain in the play after A1 misses on the first attempt. A2 rebounds the miss and tosses the ball through the basket. B1 secures the ball and inbounds it. Play continues until a foul is called on A2 as B1 is passing the ball in B's frontcourt. Ruling: The goal by A2 counts, but the error of not awarding A1 a second free throw is no longer correctable.
41. True - Section 10 Article 1b (Case Book 2.10.1 sit b) - 2005

42. A1 is fouled by B1 during a field-goal try, which is successful. A2 is erroneously awarded the free throw. While A2's successful attempt is in the air, B1 fouls A3 (not flagrant or intentional). Prior to the ball coming live, the coach of Team B properly asks the referee to correct the error of awarding free throws to the wrong player. Ruling: The free throw by A2 is canceled and A1 will properly the free throw which should have been awarded originally and the common foul by B1 is canceled.
42. True - Section 10 Article 1c (Case Book 2.10.4 play a)

43. Team A player #12 is fouled and should be shooting a one and one. Instead #3 makes the first attempt and still under the correctable error provision, Team B notices the wrong shooter. The official ruled this an intentional act. Ruling: The Referee calls a technical foul, cancels the made free throw, clears the lane, and #12 takes his free throws. The technical foul is administered and B gets the ball.
43. True - Section 10 Article 1c (Case Book 2.10.4 play b)

44. A free throw in the wrong basket does not count for the team into whose basket the ball was thrown.
44. True - Section 10 Article 1d

45. A free throw in the wrong basket counts for the team that made the basket.
45. True - Section 10 Article 1d & Rule 5 Section 2 Article 2

46. Correctable errors include attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
46. True - Section 10 Article 1d

47. Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in erroneously counting or canceling pts.
47. True - Section 10 Article 1e

48. Correctable errors include erroneously counting a score.
48. True - Section 10 Article 1e

49. A1 shoots successfully from behind 3 point line and the official indicates 3 points. The scorer records 2 points. The coach of Team A questions the 3-point goal after Team B inbounds and scores and A1 grabs the ball for the throw-in. Ruling: Too late-the ball has become alive twice.
49. False - Section 10 Article 1e (Case Book 2.10.1 sit: f -play b)

50. The scorer fails to record two points awarded to Team A by the official during the first quarter as a interference by B1. Ruling: The score may be corrected any time it is discovered before the final score. This situation is not due to the inadvertent setting aside of a rule, but is the result of a mistake in record keeping.
50. True - Section 10 Article 1e (Case Book 2.11.10 sit c last sentence)

51. Team A is in the bonus but the official erroneously awards to team A for a throw-in. The throw-in is intercepted by B1 who scores a goal, after which A1 gets the ball for the throw-in. At this time a time-out is called to correct the error. Ruling: Too late.
51. True - Section 10 Article 2 (Case Book 2.10.2)

52. A1 is successful on a try from behind the 3-point line, but none of the officials give the signal for a successful 3-point goal. Each team scores another field goal with the clock continuously running before Team A calls a time-out. During this time, the officials realize the error. RULING: Too late to correct the error of not awarding 3 points.
52. True - Section 10 Article 2

53. B1 fouls Al to put Team A in the bonus, but the officials give Team A the ball for a throw-in. A6 replaces A1. B intercepts the throw-in and scores. Following the goal, the officials are advised of the error. Ruling: Error is correctable. Al will reenter to shoot the one and one with no players on the line. The game will resume as normal following a goal by Team B.
53. True - Section 10 Article 1a & Article 6

54. A1 is awarded two free throws. Erroneously the ball is allowed to remain in play after A1 misses the 1st free throw. A2 rebounds the missed shot and scores a basket. B1 secures the ball and inbounds it. Ruling: Goal stands-too late to correct free throw error.
54. True - Section 10 Article 2 (Case Book 2.10.2)

55. Only one type of correctable error can occur while the clock is officially running.
55. True - Section 10 Article 3

56. All common fouls committed from the time a correctable error is made until it is corrected shall be cancelled.
56. False - Section 10 Article 4 & 5

57. B1 commits a common foul on A2 and it is the 7th team foul of the half for Team B. The table fails to notify the officials of the bonus situation. Team A inbounds the ball to A1, who has the ball stolen by B1. B1 is then tied-up for a held ball. The alternating possession arrow is pointing toward Team A's basket. RULING: This error is correctable. A2 will attempt the free throw(s) with players on the line and play will proceed as with any other made or missed free-throws.
57. False - Section 10 Article 6 - 2007

58. The official scorer and visiting scorer do not agree on the number of fouls charged to A1. Ruling: The referee is notified and if the reason for the discrepancy cannot be determined, the referee will accept the record of the official scorebook.
58. True - Section 11 Article 11 - 2005

59. Disqualified player #10 reenters the game without detection from the scorer or officials. He plays and scores points during a two minute interval before it is detected he is participating. Ruling: All points scored by #10 during the two minutes will be removed and a flagrant technical foul will be charged.
59. False - Section 11 Article 11 note 2

60. B1 commits his 5th personal foul but the officials are not notified. A1 goes to the line to shoot two free throws. After the first free throw, the scorer tells the official that B1 has five fouls. Ruling: Team technical on B for allowing a disqualified player to participate.
60. False - Section 11 Article 11 note 2

61. A bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the referee approves the final score.
61. True - Section 11 Article 11 - 2005

62. When there is a discrepancy in the score, which is correctable, and the referee is positive he knows what caused the problem, the referee shall order the correction to be made.
62. True - Section 11 Article 11 - 2005

63. The timer is responsible for the possession arrow.
63. False - Section 11 Article 7

64. The timer shall sound a warning signal at 20 seconds of the 30 seconds permitted for replacing an injured or disqualified player.
64. False - Section 12 Article 5

65. No timeout may be granted to either team during the 30 second interval for replacing an injured or disqualified player.
65. True - Section 12 Article 5

66. The timer shall sound a warning signal 15 seconds before the expiration of the 20 seconds permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player if a substitute is available.
66. True - Section 12 Article 5 - 2007

67. The signal to end the 4th quarter cannot be heard by the officials and the two timers cannot agree as to whether the try was successful before the buzzer. The basket will determine who wins. Ruling: Final decision is made by the referee and unless he or she has knowledge to alter the basket, it shall count.
67. True - Section 13 Article 3 (Case Book 2.13) & Section 5 Article 5


To download a copy of these questions and answers to your computer, click here.