Rule 4 Questions from 1992 to 2007

The questions and answers shown below are from SCHSL exams from the last 16 years. It is possible that there may be typos and/or an incorrect answer or two. If you should detect any problems, please let us know by emailing us at exam@district3hoops.com . Clicking on the "+" sign will reveal the correct answer.

Contract All | Expand All
1. A1 is driving to the basket and begins a lay-up, but has not released the ball. A1 is considered an airborne shooter.
1. False - Section 1 Article 1 - 2007

2. After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball against the opponents' backboard and catches the rebound. Ruling: Illegal dribble.
2. True - Section 15 Article 4 (Case Book 4.15.4 sit:c-Play a) - 2001,03

3. A1 is high in the air on a jump shot in the lane. A1 releases the ball on a try and is then fouled by B1 who jumped in an unsuccessful attempt to block the shot. Ruling: A1 is an airborne shooter when the ball is released until he/she returns to the floor. B1 has fouled A1 in the act of shooting.
3. True - Section 1 Article 1 & Article 2 (Case Book 4.1.1) - 2004

4. Airborne shooter A1 has been fouled by B1 in the act of shooting a two-point try. B2 moved into Al's landing space after he was airborne and commits a blocking foul against A1. The try is successful. Ruling: Two free throws will be awarded A1.
4. True - Section 1 Article 1 & Article 2 (Case Book 4.1.1) - 2004

5. If Bl continues to play after committing his fifth foul, the scorer should signal as soon as it is discovered even though Al may be dribbling the ball.
5. False - Section 1 Article 2

6. The airborne shooter is considered to be in the act of shooting
6. True - Section 1 Article 2 - 2001,03,04

7. Once a team obtains control of the jump ball to start the game, the alternating procedure is established and the arrow is set toward the opponent's basket.
7. True - Section 3 Article 1 - 1995

8. Following the jump ball, if Al muffs the tapped ball out-of-bounds, Team B starts the alternating procedure when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower.
8. True - Section 3 Article 3a - 1994

9. Prior to the start of the second overtime period, B3 receives an unsporting technical foul. The alternating possession arrow should be set towards B's basket when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower following the free throws.
9. True - Section 3 Article 3b - 2007

10. A1 is dribbling the ball in Team A's frontcourt. B1 slaps the ball and the ball then bounces off of A1's leg and rolls into the backcourt where A2 is the first to touch it. Ruling: Backcourt violation
10. True - Section 15 Article 4d (Case Book 4.15.1 sit: f) - 1995

11. As A1 is advancing the ball from his backcourt toward his frontcourt, A1 passes the ball to A2. A2 catches the ball - both feet are on the floor - with one foot on either side of the division line, in this situation, either foot may be the pivot foot. A2 lifts the foot, which is in the backcourt and then puts it back on the floor in the backcourt. Ruling: This is a backcourt violation.
11. True - Section 4 Article 1 (Case Book 4.4.1 Play a) - 2004

12. A1 receives a throw-in pass while straddling the division line. A1 then passes the ball to A2 who is in the backcourt. The coach of B says that this is a backcourt violation. Ruling: The coach is correct.
12. False - Section 4 Article 1 - 2005

13. Team A is in control in its backcourt for seven seconds. A1 throws the ball toward A2 in the frontcourt. B1 jumps from Team A's backcourt and while in the air bats the ball back to A1 in A's back court. Ruling: The original count continues as Team A is still in control and the ball has not gone to frontcourt.
13. True - Section 4 Article 2 (Case Book 9.9 sit d Play b) - 2004

14. A ball, which is in flight, has the same status it had when last in contact with a player on the court.
14. True - Section 4 Article 3 - 1992,95,05

15. A1 has dribbled and comes to a stop. With no teammate to pass the ball to, A1 throws the ball off of the official and continues to dribble. Ruling: Violation by A1.
15. True - Section 4 Article 4 - 1995

16. Ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location.
16. True - Section 4 Article 4 - 1997,01

17. A1's pass touches an official who is straddling the end line. Ruling: Al has caused the ball to be out-of-bounds--B's ball.
17. True - Section 4 Article 4 - 1995,2002

18. Al causes the ball to touch an official who is standing out of bounds. Ruling: AP throw-in.
18. False - Section 4 Article 4 - 1997

19. A pass from A1 strikes the official while he is standing in A's frontcourt. The ball then goes out-of-bounds. Ruling: B's ball.
19. True - Section 4 Article 4 - 1992

20. A1 is attempting to advance the ball from his backcourt into the frontcourt. The 10-second count is at 8 when B1, who is in Team A's frontcourt, tips the ball away from A1. The ball bounces into the backcourt where A1 recovers the ball and resumes dribbling. RULING: The official should start a new 10-second count.
20. True - Section 4 Article 4 & Rule 9 Section 8- 2007

21. A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A's backcourt. The ball hits B's backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and starts a dribble. Ruling: A violation has occurred for a second dribble.
21. True - Section 4 Article 4 (Case Book 4.4.5 Play b) - 2005

22. A1 is dribbling in the backcourt and terminates the dribble while straddling the division line. A1 then passes the ball in the air to A2 who catches the ball while straddling the division line. Ruling: Backcourt violation.
22. False - Section 4 Article 6 - 2001,02

23. When a player is touching in both front court and backcourt, he or she is located in backcourt.
23. True - Section 4 Article 6 - 1997,01

24. During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball gains front court status when both feet of the dribbler and the ball are entirely in frontcourt.
24. True - Section 4 Article 6 - 1995,96

25. As Team A is advancing the ball from its backcourt toward its frontcourt, A1 passes the ball to A2. A2 catches the ball while both feet are on the floor - with one foot on either side of the division line. In this situation, either foot may be the pivot foot. A2 lifts the foot, which is in the frontcourt, pivots and puts it on the floor in the backcourt. Ruling: When A2 lifts the foot, which is in the frontcourt and places it down in the backcourt, the location of the ball has not changed and the ball is still in the backcourt and no violation has occurred.
25. True - Section 4 Article 6 & Section 4 Article 35.2 (Case Book 4.4.1 Play b) - 2004

26. If a Team B player dunks during pre-game warm-ups alternating possession control is established when the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower.
26. False - Section 4 Article 7a & Section 3 Article 3b - 1992

27. A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to the player as after a goal.
27. True - Section 4 Article 7d - 1997,01

28. The team's basket for practice before the game and to shoot at for the first half, shall be the one further from its bench.
28. True - Section 5 Article 2 - 1994,01

29. It is not mandatory that teams change baskets to start the second half.
29. False - Section 5 Article 3 - 1992

30. A free throw in the wrong basket counts for the team into whose basket the ball was thrown.
30. False - Section 5 Article 4 - 1995

31. Three minutes into the first period it is discovered both teams have been shooting at the wrong basket. Ruling: Everything up to this point stands. Both teams will be instructed to go the right way.
31. True - Section 5 Article 4 - 1996,01

32. Basket interference can occur even though the offending player does not touch the ball.
32. True - Section 6 - 2004

33. Basket interference can occur even though the offending player does not touch the basket
33. True - Section 6 - 2004

34. Basket interference may occur during a free throw attempt.
34. True - Section 6 - 1996,01

35. Points may be awarded for goaltending but not basket interference.
35. False - Section 6 & Section 22 & Rule 9.11 & 12 Penaltyalty - 1 - 1996,01

36. It is not a violation to touch the net while the ball is on or within the basket.
36. False - Section 6 Article 1 - 2004,06

37. A1's attempted dunk hits the rim and bounces above the cylinder. After the miss, A1 is still grasping the ring, to prevent injury, when the ball hits the backboard and goes through the basket. RULING: Basket interference violation on A1. Cancel the score.
37. True - Section 6 Article 1 - 2006

38. Basket interference occurs when a player touches the ring while any part of the ball is within the cylinder.
38. False - Section 6 Article 2 - 2001,02

39. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. While the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, A2 touches the ball. Ruling: The basket interference by A2 causes the ball to become dead and no goal can be scored. However, A1 is awarded two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting an unsuccessful try.
39. True - Section 6 Article 2 (Case Book 9.11.2 - sit e) - 2005

40. It is basket interference to reach through the basket from below and touch the ball before it enters the cylinder.
40. True - Section 6 Article 3

41. Touching the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below is considered basket interference.
41. True - Section 6 Article 3 - 2007

42. Basket interference occurs when a player pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.
42. True - Section 6 Article 4 - 2001,03

43. Defender B4 attempts to stop a lob pass. While B4 is airborne, A3 moves beneath B4. To avoid injury, B4 grasps the basket ring. While B4 grasps the ring A1 shoots from about 12 feet away. Just after A1 releases the shot, B4 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when the ball hits the moving ring and bounces out. Ruling: Basket interference on B4.
43. True - Section 6 Article 4 (Case Book 9.11.4 - Play a) - 2001,03

44. Defender B4 attempts to stop a lob pass. While B4 is airborne, A3 moves beneath B4. To avoid injury, B4 grasps the basket ring. While B4 grasps the ring, A1 shoots from about 12 feet away. Just after A1 releases the shot, B4 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when the ball enters and passes completely through the basket without contacting the ring. Ruling: Technical foul on B4.
44. False - Section 6 Article 4 (Case Book 9.11.4 - Play b) - 2001,03

45. Defender B4 attempts to stop a lob pass. While B4 is airborne, A3 moves beneath B4. To avoid injury, B4 grasps the basket ring. While B4 grasps the ring A1 shoots from about 12 feet away. Just after A1 releases the shot, B4 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when the ball enters and passes completely through the basket without contacting the ring. Ruling: Basket interference
45. False - Section 6 Article 4 (Case Book 9.11.4 - Play b) - 2001,03

46. If there is less than 3 feet between the guard and a boundary line, the dribbler has greater responsibility for the contact.
46. True - Section 7 Article 2c last sentence - 1996,01

47. Al is charged with a player control foul, which is the team's 7th or 10th team foul. Ruling: Bl will shoot the appropriate bonus shots.
47. False - Section 8 Article 1 - 1992

48. When a player fouls out of the game, the offended player is automatically awarded one or two free throws.
48. False - Section 8 Article 1 a&b - 1997,01

49. The tenth team foul of either half places the opponent in a two shot bonus situation.
49. True - Section 8 Article 1b - 1995

50. Bl is charged with a common foul, which is not a player or team control foul and which is the team's 10th. Ruling: Two free throws.
50. True - Section 8 Article 1b - 2001

51. Player control and technical fouls count as team fouls to reach the bonus.
51. True - Section 8 Article 2 - 1995

52. A player control foul counts toward reaching the five fouls for disqualification and the seven team fouls which puts the bonus in effect.
52. True - Section 8 Article 2 - 1994

53. Player control fouls and technical fouls do not count as team fouls to reach the bonus.
53. False - Section 8 Article 2 - 1997,01

54. Team A has five team fouls. A1 fouls B1, a non shooting foul, and then disagrees with the official's call. A1 is given a technical foul. Ruling: Two shots given Team B for the technical and also a one and one will be shot because of the bonus situation.
54. False - Section 8 Article 2 & Article 1a - 1992

55. Bl is charged with a common foul, which is the teams 10th. Ruling: One & one
55. False - Section 8 b - 1996

56. The plane of the boundary line has significance in determining whether a live ball goes out-of-bounds.
56. False - Section 9 Article 2 - 1996,01

57. A closely guarded count applies only to the frontcourt.
57. True - Section 10 - 1996,01

58. A violation occurs when closely guarded A1, anywhere in A1's back-court holds or dribbles the ball for 5 seconds
58. False - Section 10 - 1997,01

59. A1, while dribbling in Team A's frontcourt, is closely guarded by B1. The covering official's count is at 3 when B2 joins B1 in the closely guarded position. B1 leaves to guard another team A player. Ruling: The official begins a new count.
59. False - Section 10 - 1997,01

60. A closely guarded count shall be terminated when the offensive player in control of the ball gets his/her head and shoulders past the defensive player.
60. True - Section 10 - 2006

61. Continuous motion applies both to tries and taps for field goals.
61. True - Section 11 Article 1 - 1997,01

62. Continuous motion applies during free throws.
62. True - Section 11 Article 1 - 2007

63. Continuous motion does not apply to taps for field goals.
63. False - Section 11 Article 1 - 1997

64. Continuous motion applies when there is a foul by the offense if the ball is in flight.
64. False - Section 11 Article 3 - 2001,02

65. Continuous motion never applies when there is a foul by the offense.
65. True - Section 11 Article 3 - 2001

66. Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight.
66. True - Section 11 Article 3 - 2005

67. Continuous motion has no significance unless there is a foul by the offense or defense during the interval which begins when the trying or tapping motion starts and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
67. False - Section 11 Article 3 - 2007

68. Player control exists when the player is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.
68. True - Section 12 Article 1 - 2007

69. A1 leaps and attempts a jump shot. While A1 is airborne, B1 takes a position on the court to rebound. A1 returns to the floor and his/her momentum carries him/her into the back of B1 who has obtained a legal position. The try is successful. Ruling: The goal counts.
69. True - Section 12 Article 1 (Case Book 4.12.1 sit a) - 2004

70. While the ball is at the disposal of A1 for a throw-in, there is neither player control or team control.
70. True - Section 12 Article 1 & Section 12 Article 2 - 2006

71. A team is in control of the ball while a live ball is being passed among teammates.
71. True - Section 12 Article 2 - 1992

72. An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no team control during an interrupted dribble.
72. False - Section 12 Article 2 & Article 3 - 2001

73. Al is dribbling in A's backcourt when the ball accidentally hits his ankle and bounces away. In an attempt to recover the ball, Al fouls B1. Ruling: Common foul charged to A1.
73. True - Section 12 Article 2 (Case Book 4.12.1 sit: b) & Section 19 - 1995

74. During a try, there is no team or player control.
74. False - Section 41 Article 3 - 1995

75. During A1's interrupted dribble in the frontcourt, A3 remains in his free throw lane 3 seconds. Ruling: Violation by A3.
75. True - Section 12 Article 4 & Rule 9.7.1 - 2001,02

76. Team control does not exist during a jump ball or the touching of a rebound.
76. True - Section 12 Article 5 - 2007

77. An out-of-bounds player has player control while holding a live ball during the throw-in.
77. False - Section 12 Article 6 - 1996

78. A1 has the ball for an end line throw-in. Team B is in the bonus. A4 is called for a foul for an illegal screen after A1 released the ball but before it was touched on the court by either team. RULING: Team control foul on A4. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul.
78. False - Section 12 Article 6 - 2007

79. During a try there is team or player control.
79. True - Section 12 Article 6 - 2001

80. Al is dribbling when the ball accidentally strikes his/her ankle and bounces away. During an interrupted dribble, Al fouls B1 in attempting to continue the dribble. Ruling: Player control foul.
80. False - Section 12 Article 6b - 1995,97,01

81. There is no team control during a dead ball, throw-in, jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
81. True - Section 12 Article 6 - 2005, 2007

82. Team A gets the ball after the jump ball to start the game. A1 holds the ball in his frontcourt and all the Team B players sit down. A1 continues to hold the ball for 6 minutes. Ruling: Legal action.
82. True - Section 13 Article 1 - 1994

83. Team A's front court includes the division line.
83. False - Section 13 Article 2 - 1996,01

84. A player is disqualified if he has one technical foul and four personal fouls.
84. True - Section 14 Article 1

85. Al is fouled and had been awarded two free throws. Before the ball is placed at the free thrower disposal, Al uses profane language toward the official. Ruling: Al is disqualified immediately for a flagrant technical foul, no shots are taken and Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in.
85. False - Section 14 Article 1 (Case Book 4.14.1 sit: b) - 1997

86. Al is fouled by Bl while Team A is in the bonus. The covering official is at the table reporting the foul when Al is charged with a technical foul. This is A1's fifth foul. Ruling: Al will shoot the foul shots and then be disqualified.
86. False - Section 14 Article 1 (Case Book 4.14.1 sit:a) & Rule - 2001

87. Al has just committed her 5th foul and as she is leaving the court. But before the coach has been notified, makes an obscene gesture to the crowd. Ruling: A technical is charged to the player and indirectly coach.
87. False - Section 14 Article 2

88. A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personal when the head coach is notified by an official.
88. True - Section 14 Article 2 - 1995

89. A1 is charged with his fourth personal foul and reacts by using profanity. The covering official charges A1 with a technical foul. Ruling: A1 is disqualified and an indirect foul is charged to the head coach since A1 is "bench personnel."
89. False - Section 14 Article 2 (Case Book 4.14.1 sit B) - 2005

90. A player control foul can occur during an interrupted dribble.
90. False - Section 15 - 2004

91. A1 cannot dribble unless he/she is in control of the ball.
91. True - Section 15 Article 1 - 2001,02

92. A1 attempts to receive a pass while running down the court. A1 muffs the ball before securing control and then fumbles the ball. A1 recovers the ball several feet away and then starts a dribble. RULING: A violation occurred when A1 started the dribble.
92. False - Section 15 Article 1 & Section 21 - 2007

93. While rebounding, B1 taps the ball while trying to gain control. B1 allows the ball to strike the floor to begin a dribble. Ruling: Legal
93. True - Section 15 Article 1& 2 (Case Book 4.15.1 sit: a) - 1995

94. A2 attempts a pass to A3, but seeing it will be intercepted, he or she runs and catches the ball before it hits the floor. Ruling: Violation by A2.
94. True - Section 15 Article 2 - 1997,01

95. A player may start a dribble by throwing the ball in the air and allowing it to strike the floor.
95. True - Section 15 Article 3 - 2007

96. A dribble ends when the ball bounces above the shoulders of the dribbler.
96. False - Section 15 Article 4 - 1992

97. A2 ends his/her dribble and passes to A4 but the ball hits the official and rebounds back to A2. Ruling: Double dribble.
97. True - Section 15 Article 4 (Case Book 4.15.4 sit:c-Play b) - 2001,03

98. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.
98. True - Section 15 Article 4 Note 1 - 1997,2001,02,03,05

99. A1 attempts to catch the ball while running rapidly. A1 muffs the ball, but succeeds in securing it before it strikes the floor. A1 then begins a dribble, taking several steps between the time the ball was first touched until it was caught. Ruling: There has been no violation provided A1, after catching the ball, released the ball to start the dribble after the pivot foot was lifted from the floor.
99. False - Section 15 Article 4 Note 2 (Case Book 4.43 sit a) - 2004

100. Al catches a pass from A2 and before dribbling is surrounded by B1 and B2. Al throws the ball against B's backboard and after the ball hits the floor, Al continues to dribble. Ruling: Legal.
100. True - Section 15 Article 4a (Case Book 4.15.4 sit:c- Play a) - 1995

101. Al attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A's backcourt. The ball strikes B's backboard and deflects back to Al who catches the ball and starts to dribble. Ruling: Legal action.
101. False - Section 15 Article 4a (Case Book 4.15.4 sit:c- Play a) - 1994

102. “Palming” can only occur while the palm is facing upward.
102. True - Section 15 Article 4b & 2007-8 POE 4 B - 2007

103. A dribble ends when the dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
103. True - Section 15 Article 4c - 2007

104. A1 ends her dribble. B2 bats the ball out of A1's hand. A1 runs several feet, picks up the ball and then starts a dribble. RULING: Double dribble violation on A1.
104. False - Section 15 Article 4d - 2006

105. A2 receives a pass from a teammate. A2 starts her dribble, but the ball goes off the foot of B2. The ball bounces several feet away where A2 picks up the ball and then starts to dribble again. RULING: Double dribble violation on A2.
105. False - Section 15 Article 4d - 2007

106. An interrupted dribble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp.
106. False - Section 15 Article 5 - 2001

107. A1 is dribbling in A's backcourt when the ball accidentally strikes his/her ankle and bounces away. During the interrupted dribble, A1 fouls B1 in attempting to continue the dribble. Ruling: A team control foul is charged to A1. It is not a player control foul as the contact occurred during an interrupted dribble.
107. True - Section 15 Article 5 & 6b - 2005

108. A team is not in control of the ball during an interrupted dribble.
108. False - Section 15 Article 6 - 2001,03

109. The ten-second count is suspended during an interrupted dribble.
109. False - Section 15 Article 6 - 2004

110. The closely guarded count will be terminated during an interrupted dribble.
110. True - Section 15 Article 6 a - 1994

111. Bl is closely guarding Al when Al loses the dribble when it hits off his leg. The closely guarded count had reached four when Al lost control. Ruling: The closely guarded count continues during the interrupted dribble.
111. False - Section 15 Article 6 a - 1995

112. There can be no player control during an interrupted dribble.
112. True - Section 15 Article 6 b - 1994,2006

113. A1 's dribble is "interrupted" when the ball deflects off his shoe. A1 or a teammate asks or signals for a time-out as the ball bounces toward the sideline. Ruling: The request cannot be granted.
113. True - Section 15 Article 6 c - 2005

114. During an interrupted dribble, out of bounds violations do not apply to those players not involved with the interrupted dribble.
114. False - Section 15 Article 6 d - 2001,03

115. During an interrupted dribble, out of bounds violation applies on the player involved with the interrupted dribble.
115. False - Section 15 Article 6d - 2004

116. A1 is dribbling in A's frontcourt when the ball strikes his leg and bounces away. During the interrupted dribble, A1 accidentally steps on the sideline. Ruling: Out of bounds violation by A1.
116. False - Section 15 Article 6d - 1992

117. A traveling violation results if Al, while holding the ball, touches the floor with the ball.
117. False - Section 15 Note 2 after Article 4 - 1996

118. It is a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor more than once.
118. False - Section 15 Note 3 - 2001

119. A dunk is a try for goal.
119. True - Section 16 & Section 40 Article 2 - 1992

120. The length of the overtime period for a varsity contest is 3 minutes.
120. False - Section 17 - 1995

121. The length of each extra period will be four minutes in length.
121. True - Section 17 - 1994

122. After a successful dunk, but before the ball becomes live, Al taunts B1 and B1 immediately pushes A1. Ruling: Double technical foul
122. True - Section 18 Article 1 - 1997

123. It is not considered fighting if a player attempts to punch or kick an opponent but does not make contact.
123. False - Section 18 Article 1 - 1997,01

124. Fighting includes, but is not limited to, combative acts such as striking an opponent with a fist.
124. True - Section 18 Article 1 - 1997

125. B3 commits a foul on A1, who is in the act of shooting. After the foul, B3 taunts A1, after which A1 swings at but misses B3. RULING: Both players are disqualified. A1's substitute will shoot the two free throws for the personal foul. Any member of Team A will then shoot two free throws followed by a Team B member shooting two free throws. Team B will receive the ball at the division line for a throw-in.
125. False - Section 18 Article 1 & 2 & Rule 10 Summary of Penalties 8a - 2007

126. A1 dunks over B1 and then taunts B1. B1 retaliates and punches A1 . Ruling: Both A1 and B1 are charged with a flagrant technical foul for fighting and are disqualified. A1's action is defined as fighting when the taunting caused B1 to retaliate by fighting.
126. True - Section 18 Article 2 & R10.3.9 Penalty - 2004

127. It is possible for the second quarter to begin by administering a personal foul penalty.
127. False - Section 19 Article 1 - 1996,01

128. A personal foul involves contact.
128. True - Section 19 Article 1 - 2001,03

129. Personal fouls always involve illegal contact and occur during a live ball.
129. True - Section 19 Article 1 - 1995,97,01,07

130. Personal fouls always involve contact and occur during a live ball except a common foul by or on an airborne shooter.
130. True - Section 19 Article 1 - 2001

131. If airborne Al decides to pass instead of shooting, he or she is still an airborne shooter.
131. False - Section 19 Article 1 - 1996,01

132. A personal foul involves illegal contact.
132. True - Section 19 Article 1 - 2001

133. If airborne shooter A1 commits a player control foul, and B1 then goaltends, the goaltending is ignored.
133. True - Section 19 Article 1 & rule 9.12 Penalty 1 - 1997,01

134. Ball becomes dead when A2 fouls before A1's field goal is in flight.
134. True - Section 19 Article 1 (Case Book 4.19.2 a) - 2001

135. A1 commits an airborne shooter player control foul after releasing the ball on a try. The ball then goes through the basket. Ruling: No goal can be scored on a player control foul.
135. True - Section 19 Article 1 (Case Book 4.19.6 sit: c)& Rule - 2001

136. A personal foul can not be committed on or by an airborne shooter.
136. False - Section 19 Article 1 last sentence - 1992

137. A1 has the ball for a throw-in. The throw-in pass deflects off A2. As A2 & B2 are attempting to retrieve the loose ball, A2 illegally pushes B2 from behind and is called for a foul. Team B is in the bonus. Ruling: Free throws should be awarded to Team B since they are in the bonus.
137. True - Section 19 Article 1 - 2005

138. A multiple foul is a situation in which two teammates commit personnel fouls against two opponents at approximately the same time.
138. False - Section 19 Article 10 - 1997,01

139. B1 and B2 foul A1 at the same time while A1 is driving down the lane. Team A is not in the bonus. Ruling: No free throws are awarded to A1.
139. False - Section 19 Article 10 (Case Book 4.19.10 - Play a) & - 2001

140. Each part of a false multiple foul carries its own penalty.
140. True - Section 19 Article 11 (summary of Penalties for fouls) - 1995

141. B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2. Ruling: Multiple foul.
141. False - Section 19 Article 11 (Case Book 4.19.11) - 2001

142. An unsportsmanlike foul may be either personal or technical.
142. False - Section 19 Article 13 - 1995

143. An unsportsmanlike foul is not a personal foul.
143. True - Section 19 Article 13 & Article 1 - 1997,01

144. Ball does not become dead when A2 fouls before A1's field goal is in flight.
144. False - Section 19 Article 2 (Case Book 4.19.2 - Play a) - 1996,01

145. If a foul is committed to neutralize an opponent's obvious advantageous position, it. is an intentional foul.
145. True - Section 19 Article 3 - 2001

146. An intentional foul is a personal or technical foul that neutralizes an opponent's obvious advantageous position.
146. True - Section 19 Article 3 - 2005

147. Contact away from the ball or when not making a legitimate attempt to play the ball, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting, shall be intentional.
147. True - Section 19 Article 3 - 2005

148. A foul shall be ruled intentional if, while playing the ball, a player causes excessive contact with an opponent.
148. True - Section 19 Article 3 - 2005

149. An intentional foul is not based solely on the severity of the act.
149. True - Section 19 Article 3 - 1997, 2007

150. All common fouls in the last two minutes of the game are automatically intentional
150. False - Section 19 Article 3

151. B1 is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act of shooting an unsuccessful 3-point try. Ruling: A1 is awarded two free throws, and is then awarded a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul.
151. False - Section 19 Article 3 (CB 4.19.3 sit a Play c) - 2004

152. B1 is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who was in the act of shooting a successful 3-point try. Ruling: 2 free throws and play will continue as with any free throw attempts.
152. False - Section 19 Article 3 (Case Book 4.19.3 sit:a) - 2001

153. Bl is charged with an intentional foul on Al who was in the act of shooting a successful 3 point try. Ruling: Al is awarded one additional free throw.
153. False - Section 19 Article 3 (Case Book 4.19.3 sit:a) - 1995

154. A1 breaks away for an apparently easy basket with B1 in pursuit. B1 forcefully fouls Al from behind in an attempt to prevent A1 from scoring. Ruling: Intentional foul.
154. True - Section 19 Article 3 (Case Book 4.19.3 sit:b) - 1995

155. A1 drives to the basket with B1 in pursuit. As A1 begins the act of shooting, B1 gets a hand on the ball from behind and the subsequent contact takes A1 forcefully to the floor and out-of-bounds. Ruling: An intentional foul when the contact is judged to be excessive, even though the opponent is playing the ball.
155. True - Section 19 Article 3 (Case Book 4.19.3 sit b) - 2004

156. Late in the 4th quarter team B is trailing by six-points. Team B's head coach begins to yell at his players to "foul, foul, foul!" B1 responds by grabbing A1 from behind. Ruling: An intentional foul shall be called.
156. True - Section 19 Article 3 (Case Book 4.19.3 sit D play a) - 2005

157. B1 goaltends on airborne shooter A1's try. A1 fouls B1 (player-control) in returning to the floor. Ruling: Designated spot throw-in.
157. False - Section 19 Article 4 & Section 22 & R 9.12 - 2004

158. Only technical fouls charged to the head coach or bench personnel carry a two shot penalty.
158. False - Section 19 Article 5 - 1997

159. A technical foul is a foul by a non-player.
159. True - Section 19 Article 5a - 2001

160. A1 ends the dribble and passes the ball to A2. While the ball is in the air, A1 charges into B2. Ruling: Player control foul charged to A1.
160. False - Section 19 Article 6 - 2004

161. Dribbler, A1, dislodges defender, B2 who has legal guarding position in the post, by backing into him. RULING: Player control foul on A1.
161. True - Section 19 Article 6 - 2007

162. A1 leaps and attempts a jump shot. While A1 is airborne, B1 takes a position on the court to rebound. A1 returns to the floor, and the momentum carries him into the back of B1, who had obtained a legal position. The try is successful. Ruling: The goal does not count.
162. False - Section 19 Article 6 (Case Book 4.19.6 sit:a) - 2001,03

163. Team B is leading 64-63. The game clock shows five seconds left in the fourth quarter. A1 dribbles, becomes airborne, and attempts a try for a two-point goal. After releasing the ball, time expires and the game-ending horn sounds. The ball enters and passes through the ring after time expires. A1 then commits a player control foul after the goal. Ruling: Cancel the goal.
163. True - Section 19 Article 6 (Case Book 4.19.6 sit:a) - 2001

164. Bl fouls airborne Al in the act of shooting. A1 continues with the trying motion and before releasing the ball, crashes into B2 who has a legal position. The try is successful. Ruling: Count the basket
164. False - Section 19 Article 6 (Case Book 4.19.6 sit:a) - 1996

165. If the ball goes through the basket before or after a player-control foul, the goal shall not be counted.
165. True - Section 19 Article 6 (Case Book 4.19.6 sit:a play a) - 2005

166. B1 is moving parallel with A1 as A1 is dribbling near the end line. A1 ends the dribble and jumps diagonally into B1 in an attempt to get position to score. The contact knocks B1 backwards. Official calls a player control foul on A1. Ruling: The official is correct.
166. True - Section 19 Article 6 (Case Book 4.19.6 sit:c - Play a) - 2001,02

167. Airborne shooter Al releases the ball on a try for a goal. Before returning to the floor, airborne shooter Al charges into B1. Before the foul by A1, B2 commits basket interference. Ruling: The violation is penalized by awarding two points.
167. True - Section 19 Article 6 (Case Book 4.19.6 sit:c - Play a) - 1996,01

168. It is possible for airborne shooter A1 to commit a foul which would not be player control.
168. True - Section 19 Article 6 (Case Book 4.19.6) - 2001,02

169. A team control foul is a common foul committed by a member of the team that has control.
169. True - Section 19 Article 7 - 2005

170. A1 is passing the ball to A2 in team A's frontcourt when B2 deflects the pass. As A2 and B2 are attempting to retrieve the loose ball, A2 illegally pushes B2 from behind and is called for a foul. Team B is in the bonus. Ruling: Since the ball was loose, the B2 will shoot a one and one.
170. False - Section 19 Article 7 - 2005

171. Airborne A1 drives the lane and passes the ball to A2. A1 then crashes into B3 who has obtained legal guarding position. RULING: Player control foul on A1. Team B gets a designated spot throw-in at the spot closest to the foul, regardless of whether or not Team B is in the bonus.
171. False - Section 19 Article 7 - 2006

172. After A1 starts the free-throwing motion and after she has released the ball, A2 commits a foul by pushing B1 along the lane. A1's free throw is successful. RULING: Because the ball became dead when the team control foul occurred, A1's basket is cancelled and A1 is permitted another free throw.
172. False - Section 19 Article 7 & Rule 6.7.7 Exception b - 2006

173. A double personal foul involves only personal fouls and only two opponents.
173. True - Section 19 Article 8a - 2005

174. Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. Before the ball is at the disposal of A1, A3 and B3 push each other. Ruling: A3 and B3 are charged with double personal fouls. No free throws are attempted and the ball will be put in play at the point of interruption.
174. False - Section 19 Article 8a (Case Book 4.19.8 sit:a-Play b) - 2005

175. Al and Bl foul each other at approximately the same time. The contact occurred during a dead ball. Ruling: Double technical foul and no free throws will be shot.
175. True - Section 19 Article 8 (Case Book 4.19.8 sit:a-Play b) - 1994

176. A1 and B1 kick one another during a live ball situation. Ruling: Double technical foul.
176. False - Section 19 Article 8b - 1997,01

177. A1 is attempting the second throw of a one-and-one when A2 and B2 commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time while the free throw is in flight. Both teams are in the bonus and Team A has the possession arrow. Ruling: Double Personal foul situation. No free throws are awarded.
177. True - Section 19 Article 8b (case Book 8.7 sit: a) - 2001

178. Penalties for false double fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred.
178. True - Section 19 Article 9 - 2001

179. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting a successful field goal. Prior to the free throw ending, A2 fouls B5 during rebounding action. RULING: This is an example of a false double foul.
179. True - Section 19 Article 9 - 2006

180. A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt when A2 sets an illegal screen against B2. Team B is in the bonus. RULING: Team control foul. Award Team B a throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.
180. True - Section 19 Article 9 & Rule 10 Penalty 1b - 2006

181. No free throws are awarded in false double foul situations.
181. False - Section 19 Article 9 & Summary of Penalties - 1996,01

182. In a false double foul situation, each foul carries its own penalty.
182. True - Section 19 Article 9 & Summary of Penalties - 2001

183. Airborne A1 is fouled by B1 during a field goal try. After the ball is in flight, A1 illegally contacts B2 in returning to the floor. Ruling: False double foul.
183. True - Section 19 Article 9 (Case Book 4.19.9 sit:a) - 2001

184. A1 and B1 foul one another at approximately the same time. The contact occurs during a dead-ball. This is a double technical foul. Two free throws are awarded each team, and play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in.
184. False - Section 19 Article 10 - 2004

185. A squad member of Team A dunks six minutes before the game starts and two minutes later, a member of Team B dunks. Ruling: Simultaneous technicals and no free throws are shot.
185. False - Section 19 Article 10 - 1996

186. During a dead ball, the official notices the coach of Team A is out of the coach's box or off the bench. The official also immediately observes that the coach of Team B is also out of the box or off the bench. Ruling: A technical foul is charged to each coach. No free throw is awarded for the simultaneous technical foul by opponents, and play resumes with an alternating possession throw-in at the division line opposite the table.
186. False - Section 19 Article 10 - 1996

187. B1 is charged with an unsportsmanlike technical foul for using profanity; as the official is reporting the foul, A2 is charged with an unsportsmanlike technical foul for taunting. Ruling: Simultaneous
187. False - Section 19 Article 10 - 2001,02

188. B1 fouls A1 who is dribbling near the division line. At approximately the same time, A2 fouls B2 in the lane near Team A's basket. Ruling: Simultaneous personal foul. B1 and A2 are charged with personal fouls. Team A's is awarded a throw-in on the sideline.
188. True- Section 19 Article 10 - 2005

189. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting a successful field goal. Prior to the free throw ending, B2 fouls A4 during rebounding action. RULING: This is an example of a false double foul.
189. False- Section 19 Article 12 - 2007

190. Free thrower Al bounces the ball off the floor in his attempt at the throw. The ball subsequently goes through the basket. Ruling: Count the one point.
190. False - Section 20 Article 3 - 1996

191. If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches a player, is touched by a player on the court, or touches the floor on the court.
191. False - Section 20 Article 3 - 2001,03

192. Free thrower Al bounces the ball off the floor in his attempt at the throw. The ball subsequently goes through the basket. Ruling: No Points
192. True - Section 20 Article 3 - 1996,01

193. By definition of a fumble, a player can intentionally fumble the ball.
193. False - Section 21 - 2001,02

194. During the third quarter A1 receives a pass and jumps to attempt a shot. While in the air, A1 momentarily loses possession of the ball when it slips from his hands. A1 reaches out, recovers the ball and returns to the floor with the ball in his grasp. Ruling: Traveling
194. False - Section 21 - 2005

195. Goaltending cannot occur during a tap for a goal.
195. False - Section 22 - 1995,97,01

196. Goaltending occurs when a player pulls down a moveable ring so that it contacts the ball before the returns to its original position.
196. False - Section 22 - 2004

197. A1 drives to the basket and releases the ball on a lay-up. While the ball is still on the way upwards, B1 blocks the shot and pins the ball against the backboard. RULING: Goaltending by B1.
197. False - Section 22 - 2007

198. On the first free throw by Al of a bonus penalty, B1 leaps above the lane and touches the ball but it goes through the basket. Ruling: Technical foul on B1 and the point counts.
198. True - Section 22 (Case Book 9.12 sit:-a) - 1994,95

199. Team A cannot commit a goaltending violation while Al is attempting a free throw.
199. False - Section 22 & Rule 10.12 Penalty - 1997

200. Team A can commit a goaltending violation while Al is attempting a free throw.
200. True - Section 22 & Rule 10.12 Penalty - 2001

201. The ball becomes dead when B1 touches the ball while it is in A's cylinder.
201. True - Section 22 & Rule 9.11 Penalty 1 - 1994

202. Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.
202. True - Section 23 Article 1 - 2006

203. Al is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of Al but in doing so has one foot touching the sideline. RULING: B1 is called for a B1ocking foul
203. True - Section 23 Article 2 & Section 23 Article 3a - 2004

204. B1 is in the legal guarding position against A1 who is dribbling near the sideline. B1 then accidentally steps on the sideline, but manages to lift his/her foot off of the sideline just prior to A1 making contact with him/her. Ruling: This is a blocking foul.
204. True - Section 23 Article 2a - 2004

205. To obtain an initial legal guarding position, the guard must have both feet on the floor.
205. True - Section 23 Article 2a - 1992,5

206. The screener is required to face the opponent in establishing a legal position.
206. False - Section 23 Article 2b - 1996

207. After obtaining legal guarding position, the guard must continue to face the opponent to maintain legal guarding position.
207. False - Section 23 Article 3b - 2004

208. After establishing legal position, the guard may raise hands or jump within his or her own vertical plane.
208. True - Section 23 Article 3d - 1997,01

209. The hands and arms of the defender may be raised within their vertical plane while on the floor or in the air.
209. True - Section 23 Article 3d - 1995

210. After obtaining an initial legal guarding position, the guard may jump within his/her own vertical plane.
210. True - Section 23 Article 3d - 2006

211. To obtain an initial legal guarding position on a stationary opponent without the ball no time or distance is required.
211. True - Section 23 Article 4a - 1996

212. A1, in an attempt to screen, takes a stationary position in the path of fast moving B1, who is about to receive a pass. B1 catches the pass, takes one step and then immediately contacts A1. RULING: Blocking foul on A1.
212. False - Section 23 Article 4a - 2007

213. Al and A2 lock arms in an effort to set a double screen against B1. Ruling: Technical foul charged to A1
213. False - Section 24 Article 9 & Rule 10.1.11 Penalty - 2001

214. Al and A2 lock arms in an effort to set a double screen against B1.Ruling: A technical foul charge to Team A.
214. True - Section 24 Article 9 & Rule 10.1.11 Penalty - 1996,97

215. A1 jumps to throw the ball but, B1 prevents the throw by placing a hand on the ball so that A1 is unable to throw or try. Ruling: Held ball
215. True - Section 25 Article 1 & 2 - 1992,95

216. A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball. Ruling: Traveling violation.
216. True - Section 25 Article 2 (Case Book 4.25.2) - 2001,03

217. B1 attempts to steal the ball from A1 but in his attempt falls to the floor. Al starts to dribble and trips over B1's leg. B1 made no attempt to trip A1. Ruling: No foul has occurred.
217. True - Section 27 Article 1,2,3 - 1992

218. A3 and B3 dive for a loose ball on the floor from equally advantageous positions. Both reach the ball at the same time and collide, causing B3 to be knocked unconscious. RULING: Personal or intentional foul on A3.
218. True - Section 27 Article 2 - 2006

219. Contact which occurs unintentionally, in an effort by opponents to reach a loose ball, should be considered incidental, even though the contact may be severe.
219. True - Section 27 Article 2 - 2007

220. Contact which does not hinder an opponent from performing normal offensive or defensive movements is considered incidental.
220. True - Section 27 Article 3 - 2006

221. A1 establishes legal screening position on moving B3 outside his visual field. B3 runs into A1 displacing him, but immediately stops on contact. RULING: Incidental contact should be ruled on B3.
221. True - Section 27 Article 4 - 2006

222. The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the referees hands and ends when the ball is first contacted by one or both jumpers, the floor, the basket, or backboard.
222. False - Section 28 Article 3 - 1997,01

223. The jump ball begins when the referee is ready to toss the ball.
223. False - Section 28 Article 3 - 1992

224. During A1's attempt to pass to A2, B1 accidentally hits the ball with his/her lower leg. Ruling: Kicking violation; Team A will receive the ball out of bounds nearest the violation.
224. False - Section 29 - 2004

225. During Al's attempt to pass to A2, B1 has the ball accidentally hit his/her lower leg. RULING: The ball remains live and there is no violation.
225. True - Section 29 - 2004

226. Kicking the ball is a violation only when it is an intentional act.
226. True - Section 29 - 2004

227. During A1's attempt to pass to A2, B1 intentionally uses his/her thigh to deflect the pass. Ruling: Kicking violation; Team A will receive the ball out of bounds nearest the violation.
227. True - Section 29 - 2004

228. Kicking the ball is intentionally striking it with the knee or any part of the leg or foot.
228. True - Section 29 & Rule 9.4 Note - 1992

229. Kicking the ball is a violation only when it is a positive act; accidentally striking the ball with the foot or leg in not a violation.
229. True - Section 29 & Rule 9.4 Note - 1997,01,05

230. A closely guarded count shall be terminated when the offensive player in control of the ball gets his/her head and shoulders past the defensive player.
230. True - Section 34 Article 1 & Section 34 Article 2 - 2006

231. Once the coach has been notified of a disqualified player, the disqualified player becomes bench personnel.
231. True - Section 34 Article 3 - 2004

232. A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the player commits his/her fifth foul.
232. False - Section 34 Article 3 - 2005

233. If a substitute enters illegally they become a legal player when the clock starts.
233. False - Section 34 Article 3 - 1992

234. A player becomes bench personnel after notification of the coach following his/her disqualification.
234. True - Section 34 Article 3 last sentence - 2004

235. A1 is racing towards A's basket and jumps in the air while still outside the three point line. While airborne and well inside the 3-point line, A1 catches a pass and releases the ball for try. The try is successful. Ruling: The goal counts three points.
235. True - Section 35 Article 1 (Case Book 4.35.1) & Rule 5.2.1 - 1997

236. A1 has the ball in the frontcourt and passes the ball to A3 who is running up the court in the backcourt. A3 jumps, lands with her left foot entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball, then lands with her right foot entirely in the frontcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on A3.
236. False - Section 35 Article 1 & Section 35 Article 2 - 2006

237. Thrower A1 inbounds the ball to A2. A2 immediately throws the ball back to A1 . When A1 touches the pass, he has one foot touching inbounds and the other foot not touching the floor. Ruling: The ball remains live.
237. True - Section 35 Article 1a & Section 35 Article 2 & Section 41 Article 5 - 2004

238. While A1 is dribbling the ball down the sideline, she inadvertently brushes against her head coach who is standing in the coaching box. RULING: A1 is considered out of bounds since she touched an object outside the boundary line.
238. False - Section 35 Article 2 - 2006

239. A1 is holding a live ball and is straddling the division line. RULING: A1 is considered in the frontcourt.
239. False - Section 35 Article 2 (Case Book 4.4.1 Play a) - 2004

240. A1, while in the backcourt, passes to A2 who is straddling the division line. A2 catches the ball, and starts a dribble in the backcourt after picking up his/her foot from the backcourt. Ruling: Backcourt violation.
240. False - Section 35 Article 2 - 2006

241. The location of an airborne player is the same as the time such player was last in contact with the floor.
241. True - Section 35 Article 2 - 2007

242. While A1's second free throw is in flight, a double personal foul is assessed between B3 and A3. The free throw is unsuccessful. RULING: Play resumes with an alternating possession throw-in.
242. True - Section 36 Article 1 - 2007

243. A1 runs over B1 and is called for a player control foul. Both players “chest up” and exchange words. The official calls a double technical foul. RULING: No free throws are shot and the ball is awarded to the team entitled to the alternating possession arrow.
243. False - Section 36 Article 1 - 2007

244. A1 releases the ball on a try after which A5 and B5 are whistled for a double foul under Team A's basket. A1's try is unsuccessful. RULING: Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in at the point closest to where the ball was located when the double foul occurred.
244. False - Section 36 Article 2a - 2006

245. Post players A5 and B5 are called for a double personal foul under Team A's basket while the ball is in the air on a pass from A1, who is in the backcourt to A2, who is in the frontcourt. RULING: Play will be resumed after the double foul by a designated spot throw-in by Team A at the location nearest to where the ball was in flight at the time of the double foul.
245. False - Section 36 Article 2a & Section 4 Article 3 - 2007

246. While A1's pass is in the air toward A2, a double personal foul is called. RULING: The ball is awarded back to Team A.
246. True - Section 36 Article 2b - 2006

247. Rebounding is an attempt by any player to secure possession of the ball during and following a try for a goal.
247. False - Section 37 Article 1 - 1997,01

248. To establish a legal screening position, the screener may face any direction.
248. False - Section 40 Article 2 - 2007

249. On a blind screen, the screener does not have to allow one step for the opponent to avoid contact.
249. False - Section 40 Article 4 - 1997, 2001

250. When screening a moving opponent, the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact. This distance need not be more than two strides.
250. True - Section 40 Article 5 - 2006

251. When screening an opponent who is moving in the same path and direction as the screener is moving, the screener is responsible for contact if the screener slows up or stops.
251. False - Section 40 Article 6 - 2005

252. Unless it is an airborne shooter, the act of shooting ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
252. True - Section 41 Article 1 - 1997,01

253. A1 has the ball in the backcourt when A2 breaks to the basket. A1 throws a full court pass toward the basket. The ball hits the backboard and enters the basket. Ruling: Score three points for Team A.
253. True - Section 41 Article 2 - 2001,03

254. A1 has the ball on the left wing in Team A's front court, standing behind the three point arc. A1 passes the ball toward the ring and A5 makes a back door cut toward potential "alley-oop" dunk. The ball, however, enters and passes through the goal directly from A1's pass and is not touched by A5. Ruling: Score 2 points for Team A because A1 's pass was not a try for goal.
254. False - Section 41 Article 2 - 2004

255. Al shoots at B's basket and is fouled while shooting and the ball goes in the basket. Ruling: The basket counts but no free throws awarded.
255. False - Section 41 Article 2 (Case Book 4.41.2) - 2001

256. Al becomes confused and throws the ball at the wrong basket. A1 is fouled by Bl and then the ball goes through the basket. Ruling: Goal counts for B.
256. False - Section 41 Article 2 (Case Book 4.41.2) - 1995

257. After a time out, A1 inbounds to A2 in the backcourt. A2 forgets the direction he is going and drives to B's basket for a shot and is fouled by B1 during the attempt. The official awards two free throws to A2. Ruling: Correct procedure
257. False - Section 41 Article 2 (Case Book 4.41.2) - 2005

258. If A1 throws the ball through B's basket from behind Teams B's 3 pt line, it counts 3 points for Team B
258. False - Section 41 Article 2 (Case Book 4.41.2) - 2001,02

259. On a try for goal, it is not necessary that the ball leave the players hand.
259. True - Section 41 Article 2 (last sentence) - 1996

260. The try starts when the player has released the ball for field goal.
260. False - Section 41 Article 2 - 2006

261. While the ball is in flight on a try for goal by A1 , time expires and then B1 touches the ball. The ball enters the basket. Ruling: The goal is no good.
261. False - Section 41 Article 3 & Article 4 (CB 4.41.4 sit a Play a) - 2004

262. Pass by Al strikes the floor in front of the basket without touching any player and then goes through the basket.While the pass was in flight, the horn sounded to end the first quarter. Ruling: Goal counts.
262. False - Section 41 Article 4 - 1994

263. A1's missed try rebounds directly to A's backcourt where A2 gains control. Ruling: No violation.
263. True - Section 41 Article 4 - 2001,02

264. A1's three point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. Ruling: Two points are scored.
264. True - Section 41 Article 4 (Case Book 4.41.4 sit:b Play a) & - 1997

265. A1's pass strikes A2, who is standing behind his 3-point line, in the head. The ball then goes through the basket. Ruling: Three points for Team A.
265. False - Section 41 Article 4 (Case Book 4.41.4 sit: b) - 1995

266. A1 tries for a goal. When the ball is released from the hand of A1, B1 touches the ball with his/her fingertips as the horn sounds indicating time has expired. Ball continues and enters the basket of Team A. Ruling: Deny the basket.
266. False - Section 41 Article 4 (Case Book 4.41.4 sit a.) - 2004

267. A1 attempts a try after ending a dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Ruling: This is not traveling. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again.
267. True - Section 41 Article 4 (Case Book 4.43 sit b) - 2004

268. Al is fouled as he is tapping the ball toward the basket. Tap is not successful. Team A is not in the bonus. Ruling: Al is awarded two free throws.
268. True - Section 41 Article 6 & summary of penalties - 5a - 1996

269. A tap starts when the player's hand(s) touches the ball
269. True - Section 41 Article 7 - 1997

270. A tap begins when the ball leaves the player's hand(s).
270. False - Section 41 Article 7 - 1992,7,01,07

271. After a goal the ball is lying on the floor on or near the end line but no Team A player makes an effort pick it up. Ruling: Begin the throw-in count, as the ball is available.
271. True - Section 42 Article 3 - 1996

272. A1 has the ball for a designated spot throw-in and is standing 3-feet behind the end line. As A1 release the ball B3 reaches across the boundary line plane and bats the ball into A1 's feet. Ruling: Violation by A1.
272. True - Section 42 Article 4 & Article 5 & Rule 7.1.2a & b - 2001

273. The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by an inbounds player other than the thrower.
273. True - Section 42 Article 5 - 2004

274. During an end line throw-in, thrower, A1, inbounds the ball by throwing off the back of B2. A1 then enters the court, picks up the ball, shoots and scores. RULING: This is a violation when A1 picks up the ball, as he is the first to touch the ball before team control is established.
274. False - Section 42 Article 5 - 2007

275. Team B makes a throw-in under the alternating possession but Team A should have had the throw-in. A player touches the throw-in and then the error is discovered. Ruling: Stop play and give the ball to Team A.
275. False - Section 42 Article 5 (Case Book 7.5.2 sit: b) - 1992, 1996

276. Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake puts the ball at Bl's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and B2 scores a goal. Ruling: May be corrected under correctable error provision.
276. False - Section 42 Article 5 (Case Book 7.5.2 sit: b) - 1995

277. There is no limit on how far back the thrower may move on a designated spot throw-in.
277. True - Section 42 Article 6 - 2007

278. Pivot-foot restrictions are in effect for a throw-in.
278. False - Section 42 Note - 2001

279. The traveling rule is in effect for a throw-in.
279. False - Section 42 Note - 2001

280. A team charged with a time-out can dictate if the time-out can be reduced in length.
280. False - Section 43 Article 1 - 1994

281. It is not possible for a player to travel during a jump ball, throw-in, or free throw.
281. True - Section 44 - 2007

282. A1 is dribbling down the court and picks up her dribble to pass the ball to a teammate. A1 fumbles the ball and takes two steps before regaining control and releasing the ball on a pass to A3. RULING: Traveling violation on A1.
282. False - Section 44 & Section 21 - 2006

283. A1 attempts to catch the ball while running rapidly. A1 muffs the ball, but succeeds in securing the ball before it strikes the floor. A1 then begins a dribble by releasing the ball after the pivot was lifted from the floor. Ruling: No violation.
283. False - Section 44 (Case Book 4.44 sit: a) - 2001

284. A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball. Ruling: Held ball.
284. False - Section 44 (Case Book 4.44.3 b ) - 2001

285. Al secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. Al starts the dribble and then rises to his feet.Ruling: Traveling violation
285. False - Section 44 (Case Book 4.44.5 sit: d) - 1997,01

286. A1's throw-in pass is beyond A2. A2 muffs the pass, then gains control and dribbles to the basket and scores. Ruling: No violation
286. True - Section 44 Article 1 (Case Book 4.44. sit a) - 2004

287. A1 makes a try for goal. The try misses the entire goal. A1 is the first player to reach the loose ball, which has not touched the floor or another player. A1 then puts the ball through the basket. Ruling: Goal counts.
287. True - Section 44 Article 1 (Case Book 4.44 sit:b) - 1992,01

288. Al attempts to score from 3 point range. The try is short and Al follows to rebound and catches the ball before it hits the floor. Al dribbles back to the 3-point area and throws the ball through A's goal. Ruling: Legal procedure
288. True - Section 44 Article 1 (Case Book 4.44 sit:b) - 1997,01

289. A1 ends the dribble and attempts a 3 point try. The try is short and A1 follows to rebound and catches the ball before it hits the floor and throws the ball through the basket. Ruling: Good 2 point goal
289. True - Section 44 Article 1 (Case Book 4.44 sit:b) - 1995

290. A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor and begins another dribble. Ruling: Legal.
290. True - Section 44 Article 1 (Case Book 4.44 sit:b) - 2001

291. A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Ruling: Traveling.
291. False - Section 44 (Case Book 4.44 sit:b) - 2005

292. A player who catches the ball with both feet off the floor and lands on both feet at the same time may not establish either as the pivot foot.
292. False - Section 44 Article 2.a.1 - 1996

293. A1 catches the ball with both feet off the floor and lands simultaneously with both feet; A1 may use either foot as the pivot foot.
293. True - Section 44 Article 2.a.1 - 1995

294. A1 catches a pass while in the air, lands on one foot and then jumps off that foot and lands on one foot followed by a step with the other foot. Traveling
294. True - Section 44 Article 2.a.2 - 2001,02

295. If Al catches the ball with one foot off the floor, A1 may step with the foot, which is off the floor, and then pivot using the other foot as the pivot foot.
295. True - Section 44 Article 2.b.1 - 1995

296. A1 is dribbling down the court. A1 picks up her dribble, steps with her right foot, then jumps and lands simultaneously on both feet. RULING: Legal move by A1.
296. False - Section 44 Article 2.b.1 - 2007

297. A1 catches the ball on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands on both feet simultaneously. A1 then picks up one foot and starts to dribble. Ruling: Legal play.
297. False - Section 44 Article 2.b.2 - 2001,03

298. Dribbler A1 catches the ball with the right foot touching the floor and then jumps off of that foot and alights on both feet simultaneously. Ruling: It is a violation if A1 pivots on either foot.
298. True - Section 44 Article 2.b.2 - 2001

299. Al catches a pass with his right foot on the floor and then jump stops with both feet hitting the floor at the same time. Al may use either foot now as the pivot foot.
299. False - Section 44 Article 2.b.2 - 1996

300. A1 catches the ball with one foot on the floor, jumps off that foot and lands on both feet simultaneously. A1 lifts the left foot off the floor, then places it back to the floor. Official rules A1 has traveled.
300. True - Section 44 Article 2.b.2 - 2001,02

301. The pivot foot may be lifted but not returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for goal.
301. True - Section 44 Article 3.a - 1997

302. A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands alone on the left foot. Ruling: Traveling violation.
302. False - Section 44 Article 3.a & c - 2001

303. The pivot foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.
303. False - Section 44 Article 3.c - 1996, 2001

304. It is always a violation for a player to start dribbling with the pivot foot off the floor.
304. True - Section 44 Article 3.c & Article 4b - 1997

305. A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. Ruling: This is traveling
305. False - Section 44 Article 3c (CB 4.44.3 sit c) - 2004

306. After coming to complete stop when neither foot can be a pivot, neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released for a pass.
306. False - Section 44 Article 4.a - 2001

307. After coming to complete stop when neither foot can be a pivot, neither foot may be lifted before the ball is release for a try for goal.
307. False - Section 44 Article 4.a - 2001

308. After coming to complete stop when neither foot can be a pivot, either foot may be lifted before the ball is release to start a dribble.
308. False - Section 44 Article 4.b - 2001

309. It is traveling if A1 falls to the floor after being airborne to catch a pass
309. True - Section 44 Article 5 (Case Book 4.44.5 sit: d) - 2001,02

310. A1, while in the air, secures control of the rebound of his unsuccessful 3-point try. Al is off balance and falls to the floor but is able to hold onto the ball. Ruling: Traveling.
310. True - Section 44 Article 5a - 1994

311. A1 is holding the ball and falls to the floor. Ruling: Traveling.
311. True - Section 44 Article 5a - 1992,01,03

312. The ball is loose on the floor when A1 dives and recovers the ball and A1 is flat on his stomach. A1 then gets to one knee and passes the ball to A2. Ruling: Traveling.
312. True - Section 44 Article 5b - 1995

313. Al jumps and gains control of a rebound and in returning to the floor falls down to the floor still in control of the ball. Ruling: Traveling.
313. True - Section 44 Article 5a - 1996

314. B1 dives for a loose bouncing ball and secures the ball while airborne. B1 lands on the floor, slides several feet and then passes the ball to B2. RULING: Legal play, no violation has occurred.
314. False - Section 44 Article 5a - 2007

315. A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. Al stands up but does not dribble. Ruling: Traveling.
315. True - Section 44 Article 5b - 1992

316. A1 dives after and gains possession of a loose ball on the floor. A1 gains control while on his back and then sits up. Ruling: Legal.
316. True - Section 44 Article 5b - 1996

317. A player holding the ball may touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than the hand or foot.
317. False - Section 44 Article 5b - 2004

318. A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. Ruling: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out.
318. True - Section 44 Article 5b (Case Book 4.44.5 sit b) - 2004

319. The principal of verticality is in effect whether or not a legal guarding position has been obtained
319. False - Section 45 Article 1 - 1995

320. B1 fouls A1, and A1 is awarded a one and one. The administering official has given all instructions and signals. B is properly occupying the required spaces, but A1 is huddling with his/her teammates behind the three point line. Ruling: The official should apply the resuming play procedure to rsume play.
320. False - Section 47 Article 2 & R 10.1.5c last sentence - 2004


To download a copy of these questions and answers to your computer, click here.