Rule 5 Questions from 1992 to 2007

The questions and answers shown below are from SCHSL exams from the last 16 years. It is possible that there may be typos and/or an incorrect answer or two. If you should detect any problems, please let us know by emailing us at exam@district3hoops.com . Clicking on the "+" sign will reveal the correct answer.

Contract All | Expand All
1. A5 dunks the ball into the basket. The ball goes below the ring, swirls around the net and pops back out. RULING: No goal; ball remains alive.
1. True - Section 1 - 2007

2. A1 attempts shot with 5 seconds in 1st overtime, the attempt falls short of the basket and hits the floor but continues in flight and passes thru the basket as time expires. Ruling: Basket does not count.
2. False - Section 1 Article 1 (Case Book 5.1.1 play a) - 2005

3. Whether the clock is stopped or running has no influence on the counting of a goal.
3. True - Section 1 Article 2 - 1997,01

4. A1 has both feet on the floor behind the three-point arc. A1 releases the ball on a successful try and then lands inside the three-point arc. RULING: Count three points for Team A.
4. True - Section 2 Article 1 - 2006

5. A goal from the field by A1 into B's basket counts for Team B.
5. True - Section 2 Article 1 - 2007

6. A1 is confused after the jump ball and dunks the ball in B's basket. Ruling: Two points for Team B.
6. True - Section 2 Article 3 - 1992,01

7. The only infractions for which points are awarded are goaltending by the defense or basket interference at the opponent's basket.
7. True - Section 2 Article 4 - 2004,05

8. Goaltending by the defense is the only infraction for which points are awarded.
8. False - Section 2 Article 4 - 2007

9. A1 has the ball for a throw-in with less than 3/10 of a second on the game clock. A1's throw-in is caught by A2, who is fouled while attempting to shoot. Time expires before the ball is released. Offical awards A2 two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting.
9. False - Section 2 Article 5 (Case Book 5.2.5 sit: b) - 2002

10. A1 taps the ball with .3 tenths of a second or less in the third quarter and the tap occurs clearly behind Team A's 3 point line, score three points for Team A.
10. True - Section 2 Article 5 last sentence - 2002

11. When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three-tenths (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal.
11. True - Section 2 Article 5 - 2005

12. When play is resumed with a free throw and 0.3 of a second or less remains on the clock, no field goal may be scored on a try, but could score on a tap.
12. True - Section 2 Article 5 - 2007

13. The umpires shall forfeit the game if a team refuses to play after being instructed to do so.
13. False - Section 4 Article 1 - 2004

14. The National Federation and the South Carolina High School League do not recognize protests.
14. True - Section 4 Article 2 - 1992

15. The length of the intermission between the first and second quarter is two minutes.
15. False - Section 5 Article 1 (1st sentence) - 1995

16. The length of the quarter may be shortened at anytime by the referee.
16. False - Section 5 Article 3 - 1994

17. Team A has a 45 point lead at the end of the first half of a 'B' team game. The two opposing coaches agree to play only one quarter in the second half. Ruling: Permissble
17. True - Section 5 Article 3 (Last Sentence) - 1995

18. Team A is granted a time-out. The timer indicates no time remains in the 4th Qtr., but the horn has not sounded. Ruling: The horn has no bearing on whether the period has ended.
18. False - Section 6 2nd sentence - 1992

19. A1's try is in flight. The horn sounds to end the quarter and B1 touches the ball. The ball continues in flight and passes through the basket. Ruling: The touching and horn end the try--no goal
19. False - Section 6 Exception 1 - 1992

20. No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next.
20. True - Section 6 Article 3 (see the quarter or extra period ends) - 1997

21. A1 has been awarded two free throws with no time on the clock in the 4th quarter. Team B leads 62-60 and A1 misses the 1st free throw. Ruling: A1 will be given his second throw.
21. False - Section 6 Article 3 exception (Case Book 5.6.3 sit: d) - 1995, 96,05

22. Part of a penalty can carry over from one quarter or extra period to the next.
22. False - Section 6 Article 3b ( last sentence) - 1992

23. A1 is in the act of shooting. Prior to releasing the ball, time expires on the game clock and the buzzer sounds. Ruling: Ball becomes dead.
23. True - Section 6 Article 3b next paragraph - 1997

24. A technical foul is called on A1 between the first and second quarters. The second quarter is started with two free throws by Team B, and an alternating possession arrow throw-in from the division line.
24. False - Section 6 Article 4 - 2002

25. If a technical foul is administered to end the 4th quarter and the score is tied, the throw-in portion of the penalty will begin the extra period.
25. False - Section 6 Article 4 - 1995

26. If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws.
26. True - Section 6 Article 4 (Case Book 5.6 Comment B) - 2005

27. The length of each extra period will be four minutes in length.
27. True - Section 7 Article 3 - 1994

28. The length of each extra period for varsity play shall be three minutes.
28. False - Section 7 Article 3 - 1997

29. The overtime is 3 minutes in 6-minute quarter game.
29. True - Section 7 Article 3 - 1996

30. Extra periods are extension of the fourth quarter.
30. True - Section 7 Article 3 - 2007

31. The scorer mistakenly credits a field goal by A1 to B1 and Team B in the second quarter. The regulation game ends with the score tied. During a time-out in overtime, the scorer detects the mistake and advises the referee. Ruling: The referee will have the mistake corrected. Because the correction will have changed the final score in regulation, the referee will declare the game ended, with the winner determined by the new final score in regulation.
31. False - Section 7 Article 4 - 2004

32. Once an overtime period begins, it will be played even though a correction in score is made.
32. True - Section 7 Article 4 - 1992

33. During the overtime period, the official scorer informs the referee that Team A had an additional point in the fourth quarter that was not counted. The referee reviews the scorebook and recognizes where a point was not properly credited to Team A and adds the point to Team A's score. Ruling: The overtime period will continue to completion.
33. True - Section 7 Article 4 - 2004

34. B1's timeout maybe granted following a violation by A1.
34. True - Section 8 Article 1c - 2004

35. The team captain is the team representative and is the only player that can request a time-out.
35. False - Section 8 Article 3 - 1992

36. A time-out may be granted whether a coach orally or visually requests the time-out.
36. True - Section 8 Article 3 - 2006

37. A2's time-out request may be granted even though the official's backcourt count on dribbler, A1, is at nine seconds.
37. True - Section 8 Article 3a - 2007

38. A2 is on the line to shoot a free throw. The official bounces the ball to A2 but B1 requests a timeout prior to A2 receiving the ball. RULING: The officials should grant the timeout.
38. True - Section 8 Article 3b - 2006

39. Team B requests a timeout while Team A is in possession of the ball. The covering official sounds the whistle and grants the timeout. While going to the table to report, the official realizes Team B should not have been granted the timeout. Ruling: Timeout request is cancelled
39. False - Section 8 Article 3 & Rule 6.1.2c (Case Book 5.8.3 e) - 1997

40. Either team may be granted a time-out following a field goal and before the throw-in begins.
40. True - Section 8 Article 3 (Case Book 5.8.3 sit: d - Play a) - 1995

41. Airborne A1, while holding the ball, requests a time-out. Ruling: Time-out is granted.
41. True - Section 8 Article 3 (Case Book 5.8.3 sit: d - Play a) - 1992

42. A2's timeout request may not be granted after free thrower A1 has the ball at their disposal.
42. False - Section 8 Article 3a - 1995,97,01

43. A1's try is unsuccessful and the loose ball is heading for the sideline when airborne A4 catches the ball and requests a time-out just prior to falling in the bench area. RULING: Do not grant A4 the time-out.
43. False - Section 8 Article 3a - 2006

44. On a jump ball, the clock starts when the tapped ball is touched by one of the eight non-jumpers.
44. False - Section 9 Article 2 - 2006

45. On an unsuccessful free throw that is to remain live, the clock shall start when the ball touches the floor.
45. False - Section 9 Article 2 - 2007

46. Since the ball is live on a throw-in, the clock starts when the ball is touched on the court.
46. True - Section 9 Article 4 - 1992,01

47. Since the ball is live on a throw-in, the clock starts when the ball is released.
47. False - Section 9 Article 4 - 1992,01

48. A1 is fouled by B1 in the act of shooting. The horn then sounds ending the quarter prior to A1's release of the ball. A1 then releases the ball and it goes through the basket. RULING: Disallow the basket. Award A1 two free throws with no players in marked lane spaces.
48. False - Section 10 - 2006

49. The score is tied near the end of the game when A1 is fouled on a successful try. One official notices one second on the clock at the time of the whistle but the time runs to 0:00 and the horn sounds. RULING: Since one second lag time is allowed, game is over as A1 need not attempt the free throw as the outcome of the game is decided.
49. False - Section 10 Article 1 - 2006

50. The score is tied near the end of the game when A1 is fouled on a successful try. One official notices 1 second on the clock at the time of the whistle but the clock expires (0:00), and the horn sounds. RULING: The 1 second lag time is allowed. The game is over as A1 need not attempt the free-throw as the outcome of the game is decided.
50. False - Section 10 Article 1 - 2007

51. As the official calls a traveling violation, he/she properly sounds the whistle and gives the signal to stop the clock.While doing this, the official is able to see the exact time remaining in the fourth quarter. The clock shows 55 seconds remaining. The timer stops the clock: with 50 seconds. showing on the clock.. RULING: The referee will order 55 seconds put on the clock.
51. True - Section 10 Article 1 - 2004

52. Near the end of the first half, a foul is called on B1. At the time of the whistle, the official notices 5 seconds on the game clock. However, the clock is not stopped until there are 2 seconds remaining. RULING: The Referee shall reset the game clock to 5 seconds.
52. True - Section 10 Article 1 - 2006

53. As the official calls a 3-second lane violation, he/she properly sounds the whistle and gives the signal to stop the clock. While doing this, the official is able to see the exact time remaining in the quarter. The clock shows 4-seconds remaining. The timer stops the clock at 3-seconds. Ruling: Obvious timing mistake.
53. True - Section 10 Article 1 & 2 - 2001

54. Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the 4th qtr. A1 throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt untill the horn sounds. The official does not make the 10 second call because he/she lost the count. Ruling: Game over.
54. True - Section 10 Article 1 (Case Book 5.10.1 sit: b) - 2001,02

55. Al travels and immediately after the official blows his whistle; he glances at the clock and sees 3 seconds remain in the game. However, the timer does not stop the clock and time expires. Ruling: This is considered "lag time" and the game is over.
55. False - Section 10 Article 2 (Case Book 5.10.1 sit: c) - 1994

56. During regulation play, Team A requests a 60 second timeout for a correctable error. When the official reports the timeout, the scorer indicates Team A has already used the 3 60 second timeouts they are allowed. Ruling: A 30 second timeout is granted.
56. True - Section 11 Article 3 - 1997

57. During a live ball, the Team B head coach goes to the table to rectify an error with the direction of the alternating possession arrow. The officials determine that the arrow is correct. RULING: A 60-second time-out is charged to Team B.
57. True - Section 11 Article 3 - 2006

58. Each team is permitted five timeouts during a regulation game. Two full length timeouts and (3) 30 sec timeouts.
58. False - Section 12 Article 1 - 1997

59. Each team is entitled to one additional 60-second time-out during each extra period following regulation play.
59. True - Section 12 Article 1 - 2005

60. Time-outs in excess of the allotted number may be requested and shall be granted during regulation playing time or any extra periods at the expense of a technical foul for each.
60. True - Section 12 Article 2 - 2005

61. Excessive timeout which results in a technical foul is also charged to the head coach.
61. False - Section 12 Article 2 - 1997,01

62. The technical foul for an excess time-out is charged to the player making the request.
62. False - Section 12 Article 2 & Technical foul Penalty summary-adm - 1994

63. An excessive time-out results in a technical foul also charged indirectly to the head coach.
63. False - Section 12 Article 2 & Technical foul Penalty summary-adm - 1997

64. If the scorers fail to notify the officials when a 5th charged time-out has been taken, should the team penalizied if it takes another. Ruling: Yes
64. True - Section 12 Article 2 & Technical foul Penalty summary-adm - 1995

65. An excess time-out results in a indirect technical foul to the coach.
65. False - Section 12 Article 2 & Technical foul Penalty summary-adm - 1995

66. Successive time-outs shall not be granted after time has expired in the fourth quarter or after time has expired in any extra period.
66. True - Section 12 Article 3 - 1994

67. Following the expiration of time for the first extra period, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. The time-out request is granted. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1 Following the attempt Team B then requests a time-out. Ruling: The request cannot be granted, as it would be considered a successive time-out.
67. True - Section 12 Article 3 (Case Book 5.12.3 Play a) - 2004

68. Team A has used all its allowed time-outs during regulation play. As the team lines up for the jump ball to start the overtime, Team A requests and is granted a timeout. Ruling permissble because the "OT" has started.
68. False - Section 12 Article 4 (Case Book 5.12.4 - Play a) - 1994

69. A time-out may be granted prior to the ball becoming live to start the game.
69. False - Section 12 Article 4 (Case Book 5.12.4 sit: a) - 1996,01,02,05

70. The additional 60-second time-out provided for each extra period(s) shall not be granted until after the ball has become live to start the extra period(s).
70. True - Section 12 Article 4 - 2005

71. Regulation play ends with the score tied and Team A, having no time-outs remaining, requests and is granted a timeout. Ruling: Technical foul on Team A and if Team B makes either throw, game over.
71. False - Section 12 Article 4 (Case Book 5.12.4 sit: b) - 1996

72. Only 60-second time-outs shall be used for correctable errors.
72. False - Section 12 Article 5 - 2003

73. Players may remain standing during a 30 second timeout.
73. False - Section 12 Article 5 (last sentence) - 2002

74. Players shall remain standing during a 30 second time-out.
74. True - Section 12 Article 5 (last sentence) - 1999,2006


To download a copy of these questions and answers to your computer, click here.