Rule 9 Questions from 1992 to 2007

The questions and answers shown below are from SCHSL exams from the last 16 years. It is possible that there may be typos and/or an incorrect answer or two. If you should detect any problems, please let us know by emailing us at exam@district3hoops.com . Clicking on the "+" sign will reveal the correct answer.

Contract All | Expand All
1. A1 is at the free throw line attempting a free throw. Before the throwing motion starts, A1 drops the ball. Ruling: Official should blow the whistle immediately and start the procedure over.
1. False - Section 1 Article 1 (Case Book 9.1.1 play b)

2. The ball becomes dead if B1 disconcerts A1 just before A1 releases the ball on a free-throw attempt.
2. False - Section 1 Article 2b - 2007

3. On a final free-throw attempt by A1, B1 commits a lane violation. A1's free throw misses the ring and flange. Ruling: Double violation, unless the officials deem B1's act to be disconcerting to the shooter.
3. True - Section 1 Article 3 & 5 penalty 3

4. A substitute free throw is awarded if there is a double violation and the try is unsuccessful.
4. False - Section 1 Article 3 & 6 penalty 4c

5. It is a technical foul for a free thrower to purposely fake a try.
5. False - Section 1 Article 4 penalty 1

6. A1 is preparing for a free throw and prior to the release, fakes a shot. No player violates on the fake. Ruling: No violation.
6. False - Section 1 Article 4 penalty 1

7. Al is preparing to attempt a free throw, but prior to the release of the ball B1, in a marked lane fakes and causes an opponent to enter the lane. Ruling: Sound whistle immediately.
7. False - Section 1 Article 4 penalty 1

8. A2 fakes and causes B1 to violate while Al is attempting a free throw. Ruling: Dead ball
8. True - Section 1 Article 4 penalty 1

9. As A1 prepares to shoot a free throw, A2 in a marked space, swings their arms simulating moving into the lane. B1, in an adjacent space, enters the lane prematurely. Ruling: Delayed violation on B1.
9. False - Section 1 Article 4 penalty 1 (Case Book 9.1.4 play b)

10. Any free throw violation by the offense causes the ball to become dead immediately.
10. True - Section 1 Article 4 penalty 1

11. Faking of a free throw try is a violation.
11. True - Section 1 Article 4 penalty 1

12. A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw, fakes the release of the ball. Ruling: A violation by A1, Team B will be awarded a throw-in at the nearest spot.
12. True - Section 1 Article 4 (Case Book 9.1.4 sit: A) - 2005

13. A1 is ready to shoot a free throw when B1 disconcerts A1. A1 makes the free throw attempt. Ruling: Disregard the disconcertion.
13. True - Section 1 Article 5 pen: 2a

14. It is an alternating possession throw-in if B1 disconcerts and free thrower A1 violates because of the disconcertion.
14. False - Section 1 Article 5 pen: 4 c

15. While A1 is attempting a final free throw, B1 enters the lane too soon followed by A2, both of whom are in marked lane spaces. Ruling: If the try is successful, the goal shall count and the violations shall be ignored.
15. True - Section 1 Article 5 & 6 penalty 4a

16. A1 is awarded two free throws and makes the first one. A2 violates on A1's second attempt and Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in. Ruling: The thrower of Team B may run the end line.
16. False - Section 1 Article 6 penalty 1

17. While attempting a free throw, A1 steps on the free throw line before releasing the ball, B1 then disconcerts. Ruling: The ball is awarded to Team B.
17. True - Section 1 Article 6 penalty 1 (Case Book 9.1.5 sit: c)

18. If A2 violates during A1's free throw attempt, B's throw-in will be from anywhere along the end line.
18. False - Section 1 Article 6 & Article 9 penalty 1

19. During the second free throw by A1, B1 leaves the first marked lane space too soon. A2 then leaves prematurely. A2's violation is ignored.
19. True - Section 1 Article 6 & Article 9 pen. 4a

20. B1 illegally steps into the lane before A1's final free throw hits the rim. A2 then steps into the lane prematurely, followed by A3, both in marked lane spaces. Ruling: A2 and A3's violations are not ignored.
20. False - Section 1 Article 6 penalty 2a & b

21. While A1 is attempting a final free throw, B1, in a marked lane space enters the lane too soon, then shooter A1 steps on the free-throw line while releasing the throw. Ruling: A double violation
21. True - Section 1 Article 6 penalty 4a

22. As A1 attempts the second of two free throws, B1 commits a lane violation. The official uses the proper signal for violation on B 1. The unsuccessful try by A 1 does not touch the basket. Ruling: Double violation.
22. True - Section 1 Article 9 & Article 3 penalty 1a

23. Restrictions of players in marked lane spaces apply until the ball leaves the free thrower's hands.
23. False - Section 1 Article 10 - 2006

24. Prior to A1's final free throw hitting the rim, backboard or the free throw ending. B2 and A2, are occupying marked lane spaces, commit simultaneously lane violations.Ruling: This is a double free throw violation and resume play with the alternating possession procedure
24. True - Section 1 penalty 3

25. It is an alternating possession throw-in following a double free throw violation.
25. True - Section 1 penalty 3

26. A substitute free throw is not awarded if there is a double violation and the free throw is unsuccessful.
26. True - Section 1 penalty 3

27. Leaving the designated throw-in spot prior to release of the ball is a traveling violation.
27. False - Section 2 Article 1 - 2006

28. During a throw-in by A1, A1 must remain on or over the designated spot until the ball is touched on the court, unless the privilege of using the entire end line is in effect.
28. False - Section 2 Article 1 - 2006

29. Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The pass hits A2 on the top of his head and enters the basket. Ruling: The pass was not a try, the ball becomes dead and is awarded to Team B for throw-in at the division line, the original spot of the throw-in.
29. False - Section 2 Article 2

30. A1 throw-in is a bounce pass, which bounces out of bounds before going in-bounds to A2. Ruling: Legal throw-in.
30. False - Section 2 Article 2 (Case Book 9.2.2 sit: b - play b)

31. A player may not bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.
31. False - Section 2 Article 2 (Case Book 9.2.2 sit: D ) - 2005

32. Team A scores a field goal. Bl picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Bl attempts an entry pass that goes near the division line, but no opponent or teammate is nearby to secure the ball. Bl enters the court and becomes the first player to touch the ball. RULING: Bl has committed a throw-in violation.
32. True - Section 2 Article 6 penalty

33. Al has the ball for a throw-in from near the division line. Al lobs the ball toward A2 for a dunk attempt, but the throw-in goes through the basket. Ruling: Al will have a re-throw from same spot.
33. False - Section 2 Article 7 (Case Book 7.4 - play d)

34. A1's throw-in, untouched, goes through the basket. The throw-in spot for the violation is A1's throw-in spot.
34. True - Section 2 Article 7 penalty

35. Team A is awarded an alternating possession throw-in. A1 lobs the pass toward A2 who is breaking to the basket. The ball lodges between the ring and basket. Ruling: Alternating possession
35. False - Section 2 Article 8 (Case Book 9.2.8) - 1996

36. Team A is awarded an alternating possession throw-in. A1 lobs the throw-in pass toward A2 who is near the basket. The pass lodges between the ring and the backboard. Ruling: Team B throw-in.
36. True - Section 2 Article 8 - 1992,94

37. Al has the ball for a throw-in at the designated spot when A2 steps out-of-bounds and takes the ball from Al who then steps inbounds and then receives the pass. Ruling: Legal play.
37. False - Section 2 Article 9 penalty

38. The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
38. True - Section 2 Article 11 - 2005

39. After a field goal by B1, A1 has the ball out-of-bounds for a throw-in. Al throws to A2 who is out-of-bounds along the end line. B1 reaches through the plane of the end line and slaps the ball. Ruling: Throw-in violation by B1.
39. True - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 1

40. If a team receives a warning for reaching through the throw-in boundary plane, the next such infraction is a team technical.
40. True - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 2

41. Team A has been warned for a throw-in plane infraction. A1, with four fouls, reaches through the plane in an attempt to prevent Bl from making the throw-in pass. Ruling: Technical foul on Al and he is also disqualified because of a fifth foul.
41. False - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 2 (Case Book 10.1.10)

42. If Team A has been issued a warning for reaching through the plane when Team B is making a throw-in, the next time it happens a technical foul is charged to the offending player.
42. False - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 2 (Case Book 10.1.10)

43. Team A has been warned for a throw-in plane infraction. A1, with four fouls, reaches through the plane in an attempt to prevent Bl from making the throw-in pass. Ruling: A technical foul is called as a result of Al's actions. A1 is not disqualified because of a fifth foul.
43. True - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 2 (Case Book 7.6.3 sit: c) & Rule 10.1.10 & 10.3.11

44. During a throw-in by A1, B1 reaches through the plane and slaps the ball. Ruling: A technical foul
44. True - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 3

45. Prior to any warning, B1 reaches through the throw-in boundary plane and slaps the ball from A1's hands. Ruling: Technical foul charged to B1 and also Team B is given an official warning is recorded by the scorer.
45. True - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 3 & 1 (Case Book 9.2.11)

46. During a throw-in by A1, B1 reaches through the plane and slaps the ball. Ruling: A technical on B1. No warning for Team B for the plane violation.
46. False - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 3 & penalty 1

47. Prior to any warning, Bl reaches through the throw-in plane and slaps the arm of thrower A1. Ruling: A technical foul is charged to Bl and a warning is also issued to Team B.
47. False - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 4

48. After a field goal, the score is A-61, B-60. Al has the ball out-of-bounds for a throw-in with four seconds remaining in the game and the clock is running. B1 reaches through the plane. Ruling: The violation should be ignored.
48. True - Section 2 Article 11 (Case Book 9.2.11 comment)

49. Prior to any warning, B1 reaches through the throw-in boundary plane and slaps the ball from A1's hands. Ruling: Technical foul charged to B1 and Team B is also charged with a technical foul.
49. False - Section 2 Article 11 penalty 3

50. It is permissible for two teammates to be out-of-bounds after a designated spot throw-in begins.
50. False - Section 2 Article 12

51. Al is dribbling in the front court with a closely guarded count in process. The ball strikes Al's foot and is loose when Al steps on the sideline. Ruling: Out-of-bounds on Al, B's ball.
51. False - Section 3 note

52. Not more than one player may occupy any part of a marked lane space.
52. True - Section 3 note

53. The dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but does not touch the ball while they are out-of-bounds. Ruling: No violation.
53. False - Section 3 note

54. A1 is dribbling the ball near the sideline. He/she accidentally steps on the boundary line during the dribble, but was not in contact with the ball at the time. Ruling: Violation by A1.
54. True - Section 3 note

55. The dribbler has not committed a violation if he/she steps on the boundary line if / he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is on the boundary line.
55. False - Section 3 note

56. A1 & A2 set a double screen near the end line. A3 intentionally goes out of bounds outside the end line. Ruling: A violation shall be called on A3 as soon as he steps out of bounds. The ball is awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred.
56. True - Section 3 Article 2 - 2005

57. A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason.
57. True - Section 3 Article 2 - 2005

58. A violation is called if a player leaves the court for an unauthorized reason.
58. True - Section 3 Article 2 - 2006

59. A1 is dribbling the ball along the sideline. B2 has legal guarding position along the boundary. A1 dribbles the ball between B2's legs, runs out of bounds around B2, returns inbounds and continues the dribble. RULING: Violation on A1 for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason.
59. True - Section 3 Article 3 - 2007

60. At A's basket the ball enters the net from below and passes through the basket. The ball entered after B1 attempted to catch it and B1 caused the ball to pass through the basket from below. Ruling: Violation by B1. A's ball by throw-in.
60. True - Section 4 (Case Book 9.4) - 1992

61. A2 receives a pass from a teammate. A2 starts her dribble but it goes off the foot of B2. The ball bounces several feet away where A2 picks the ball up and then starts another dribble. RULING: Double dribble violation on A2.
61. False - Section 5 Article 2 - 2006

62. A1 is dribbling in the backcourt and ends the dribble, but defensive pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1 recovers the loose ball in the backcourt and dribbles again. Ruling: Violation
62. False - Section 5 Article 3 - 2005

63. The three-second count is not in effect during a throw-in.
63. True - Section 7 Article 1

64. A1 rebounds the ball off Team B's backboard. A2 is in Team A's three-second restricted area when the rebound occurs and A2 remains there while A1 is dribbling in Team A's backcourt. Three seconds expire without the ball being in the frontcourt of Team A. Ruling: This is a backcourt violation.
64. False - Section 7 Article 1

65. The three-second restriction applies to a player who has only one foot touching the lane boundary.
65. True - Section 7 Article 2

66. Al is in A's backcourt and has dribbled for nine seconds and then passes the ball forward toward A2 in the frontcourt. While the ball is still in the air the 10-second count is reached. Ruling: Violation by Team A.
66. True - Section 8 (Case Book 9.8 sit-a)

67. A1 is dribbling the ball in the backcourt (player control) with a ten-second count in progress. After eight seconds, B1 bats the ball away from A1 (loss of player control). A1 then recovers the ball and starts a dribble (regains player control) while still in the backcourt. Ruling: The official shall begin a new 10 second count.
67. False - Section 8 (Case Book 9.8 sit:d play b)

68. A1 is dribbling the ball in Team A's frontcourt. B1 slaps the ball and the ball then bounces off of A1's leg and rolls into the backcourt where A2 is the first to touch it. Ruling: Backcourt
68. True - Section 9 Article 1

69. It is a violation if Al on a throw-in pass to A2 who touches the ball in A's frontcourt and then it goes into Team A's backcourt where it is controlled by A3.
69. False - Section 9 Article 1 & 2

70. During a throw-in, A1 passes the ball to A2 in the frontcourt. A2 muffs the ball, and it goes to the backcourt. A2, then recovers the ball In A's backcourt. Ruling: Backcourt violatlon.
70. False - Section 9 Article 1 (Case Book 9.9.1 sit:c - play a)

71. A1 is dribbling in their backcourt and throws a pass to their frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt, A2 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. Ruling: Backcourt .
71. False - Section 9 Article 1 (Case Book 9.9.1 sit:c - play a)

72. A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to his/her frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt, B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. Ruling: Team A is entitled to a new ten-second count.
72. True - Section 9 Article 1 (Case Book 9.9.1 sit:c-play b)

73. If A1 jumps from A's frontcourt and while airborne, catches the throw-in pass, it is a violation if A1 lands in his/her backcourt.
73. False - Section 9 Article 1 (Case Book 9.9.1 sit: c play a)

74. Al catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in A's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot comes down in A's backcourt. Ruling: No violation.
74. False - Section 9 Article 1 (Case Book 9.9.1 sit:a)

75. During a jump ball, the clock is started when the ball becomes live.
75. False - Section 9 Article 2

76. Following a goal by the opponents, Al grabs the ball and sprints along the end line. A1 jumps toward the court and is actually airborne inside the boundary plane when the ball is released on a long pass to A2. Ruling: Legal throw-in.
76. True - Section 9 Article 2 note after Article 11

77. On a throw-in it is legal for the thrower to break the boundary plane before releasing the ball but prior to touching the floor inbounds.
77. True - Section 9 Article 2 note after Article 11

78. It is a backcourt violation for a player to secure the ball after a throw-in with both feet off the floor and then lands with one or both feet in the backcourt.
78. False - Section 9 Article 3

79. Team A brings up the ball from their backcourt. From the backcourt, A1 throws a pass intended for A2, who is standing in the frontcourt near the division line. The pass is intercepted by B3, who jumped from his frontcourt (A's backcourt). B3 then retains possession as he lands in his backcourt. Ruling: Backcourt violation.
79. False - Section 9 Article 3

80. It is not a backcourt violation for a player to secure the ball after a throw-in with both feet off the floor and then lands with one or both feet in the backcourt.
80. True - Section 9 Article 3

81. On a throw-in, players from either team may jump from their team's frontcourt, secure the ball while airborne, and return to the floor in the backcourt legally.
81. True - Section 9 Article 3 - 2007

82. It is a violation if a defensive player jumps from the frontcourt, secures the ball with both feet off the floor and returns to the floor in the backcourt.
82. False - Section 9 Article 3 - 2006

83. If A1 jumps from A's front court and, while airborne catches the throw-in pass and while still airborne, passes the ball to A3 in A's backcourt. Ruling: Violation.
83. True - Section 9 Article 3 (Case Book 9.9.1 sit: b)

84. Al's throw-in pass bounces off the floor and is then caught by A2 while in the air. A2 jumped from A's front court and lands in the backcourt. Ruling: Backcourt violation.
84. False - Section 9 Article 3 (Case Book 9.9.1 sit: b)

85. During the first quarter B1, while in Team A's backcourt, deflects a pass from A1 into the air. B2 runs and jumps from A's backcourt, recovers the ball while in the air and lands in A's frontcourt. The covering official calls a backcourt violation on B2. Ruling: Correct call
85. False - Section 9 Article 3 - 2005

86. Restrictions for the free thrower and players not occupying a marked lane space end at the same time.
86. True - Section 1 Article 10

87. A closely guarded count applies only to the frontcourt.
87. True - Section 10 Article 1 a&b

88. While dribbling in A's frontcourt, A1 is closely guarded by B1. After two seconds, B2 also assumes a closely guarded position on A1 and B1 leaves to guard A2. Ruling: The closely guarded continues on A1.
88. True - Section 10 Article 1 a&b (Case Book 9.10.1 sit: b)

89. Al throws the ball into the basket from above but from outside the cylinder. Al's hand loses contact with the ball before the ball enters the cylinder. However, on the follow through, A1's hand comes in contact with the ball again while it is within the cylinder. Ruling: Violation.
89. True - Section 11 (Case Book 9.11.2 sit-b)

90. B1 commits basket interference on A1's free throw. Ruling: Award Team A one point and charge B1 with a technical foul.
90. False - Section 11 penalty 1

91. Al has started the act of shooting and is fouled by B1. A1 completes the try but B2 bats the ball off the ring. Ruling: A1 will be awarded the goal for basket interference and also two free throws because of being fouled in the act of shooting.
91. False - Section 11 penalty 1 (Case Book 6.7.9)

92. Points may be awarded for goaltending and basket interference.
92. True - Section 12

93. Points may be awarded for basket interference, but not for goaltending.
93. False - Section 12

94. A designated spot throw-in does not follow an awarded goal.
94. True - Section 12 penalty 1

95. Time is about to expire in the second quarter when Al releases a try for goal from near A's basket. B1 jumps to block the shot and A2 also jumps. Just after A1 releases the ball the horn sounds to end the quarter. Thereafter, A2 touches the ball outside the cylinder, and still in its upward flight. The ball goes through the basket. Ruling: Goal counts.
95. False - Section 12 penalty 1

96. Al is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. Al's try is batted away from the basket by B2. B2 is charged with goaltending. Ruling: A1 is credited with two points and will be awarded one free throw.
96. True - Section 12 penalty 1 (Case Book 9.11.2 sit-e)

97. On the first free throw by A1 in a bonus situation, Bl leaps above the lane and touches the ball but it falls in the basket. Ruling: A technical foul on B1, goaltending, and an automatic point for A1.
97. True - Section 12 penalty 1 (Case Book 9.12)

98. A player shall not excessively swing his/her arm(s) or elbow(s) even without contacting an opponent.
98. True - Section 13 Article 1 - 2005

99. Excessive swinging of arms/elbows without contact is not a violation.
99. False - Section 13 penalty

100. The ball has been released on a field goal try by A1 towards A's basket. A2 excessively swings their elbows without contacting an opponent. The ball then goes through the basket. Ruling: The ball is dead and the goal is not scored.
100. True - Section 13 penalty (Case Book 9.13.1 play a)

101. A1's try is in flight when A2 excessively swings their arms and elbows without making contact. Ruling: Official blows the whistle and calls a violation on Team A and awards Team B the ball out of bounds at the spot of the violation.
101. True - Section 13 penalty (Case Book 9.13.1 play b)

102. The ball has been released on a field goal try by A1 towards A's basket. B1 excessively swings his/her elbows without contacting an opponent. The ball then goes through the basket. Ruling: Ignore the violation.
102. False - Section 13 penalty (Case Book 9.13.1 play b)

103. The term "excessively swinging the arms or elbows" applies only to the player with the ball.
103. False - Section 13 Article 1


To download a copy of these questions and answers to your computer, click here.