Rule 10 Questions from 1992 to 2007

The questions and answers shown below are from SCHSL exams from the last 16 years. It is possible that there may be typos and/or an incorrect answer or two. If you should detect any problems, please let us know by emailing us at exam@district3hoops.com . Clicking on the "+" sign will reveal the correct answer.

Contract All | Expand All
1. Team A fails to submit its team roster and also fails to designate the starters after the 10 minute time. Technical foul on Team A
1. True - Section 1 Article 1 penalty - 1992,01

2. No more than two technical fouls can be assessed for administrative errors prior to the start of the game.
2. True - Section 1 Article 1 - 2 penalty

3. Team A properly submits its squad lists and designates its five starters however, the number for each starter is listed incorrectly. This is discovered after the 1st quarter has started. Ruling: Each player charged with a technical and must wear the number indicated in the book.
3. False - Section 1 Article 1 - 2 penalty

4. Team A and Team B fail to submit their rosters and starters prior to the 10-minute mark. Ruling: Simultaneous technical fouls--no free throws. Start the game with a jump ball.
4. True - Section 1 Article 2 - 1996

5. Changing a designated starter for any reason results in a technical foul on that team.
5. True - Section 1 Article 2a - 2007

6. After the time limit, it is one technical foul if the coach of Team A makes two or more changes in the starting lineup and no injury or illness is involved.
6. True - Section 1 Article 2a penalty Article 2 - 1994

7. Team B added two names to the roster after the ten-minute deadline had passed and will be assessed with a technical foul before the game. Ruling: Team B is charged with two technicals.
7. False - Section 1 Article 2b see penalty - 1992

8. During a time-out in the second quarter, Team B adds a name to the team list. When the Referee checks the score at halftime, the scorer informs the Referee of the addition. RULING: The third quarter shall be started with Team A shooting free throws for the technical foul of adding a name to the list.
8. False - Section 1 Article 2b see penalty - 2007

9. Team A, #14, reports and is beckoned onto the court and the ball is put in play with a throw-in. The scorer beckons the referee at the first dead ball and reports that there is no #14 listed in the scorebook. Ruling: A technical foul is charged to Team A.
9. True - Section 1 Article 2b - 2005

10. In the 4th quarter Team B adds a name to the line-up. Ruling: Team B is charged with a technical foul.
10. True - Section 1 Article 2c - 1992

11. Just prior to the start of the game, it is discovered that two Team B members have their numbers listed incorrectly in the score book. RULING: If neither player enters the game and therefore no request to change the numbers, there is no penalty.
11. True - Section 1 Article 2c - 2006

12. Three minutes prior to the start of the game, all of Team A players are wearing different shirt numbers than those listed in the book. Ruling: Only one technical foul to start the game
12. True - Section 1 Article 2c & d penalty: Article 2 (Case Book - 1994

13. Team A properly submits its squad list and designates the five starters as required at least 10 minutes before the scheduled start of the game. During the second quarter the coach asks the scorer to change a number in the scorebook so it corresponds to what the player is wearing. Ruling: Legal
13. False - Section 1 Article 2d - 1994

14. Officials may review a court side TV monitor to help resolve a last second shot.
14. False - Section 1 Article 3 - 1994

15. The coach of Team A uses an electric megaphone during the game to give instructions to his players. Ruling: A technical is charged to Team A.
15. True - Section 1 Article 3 penalty (Case Book 10.1.3 sit: a - - 1992

16. A team may review a videotape replay of the first half during intermission provided it is done in the locker room.
16. False - Section 1 Article 3 penalty (Case Book 10.1.3 sit: b - - 1994

17. During a time-out, the head coach is observed using a head set and talking to an assistant in the stands. Ruling: Technical foul charged to the head coach.
17. False - Section 1 Article 3 & Technical foul penalty summary - 1996,01

18. During the game a coach may communicate with players on the court by using cards or signs.
18. True - Section 1 Article 3 (Case Book 10.1.3 sit: a-last - 1994

19. Following the second horn, indicating the time-out has ended, Team A is still wiping up water from the playing court and delays the game from resuming. RULING: Team A is warned for delay. If a previous warning for any type of delay had been issued, a technical foul shall be charged.
19. True - Section 1 Article 5 b-e - 2006

20. In the third quarter, A4 is warned for slapping the ball away from Team B after a field goal. In the fourth quarter, A6 violates the restriction on the throw-in plane boundary. RULING: Team technical foul on Team A.
20. True - Section 1 Article 5 b-e - 2006

21. The official is ready to administer the free throw. Free thrower A1 is huddling with teammates and is not in the semicircle. The resuming play procedure is not in effect. Ruling: Technical on A1 for delay.
21. True - Section 3 Article 6c & (Case Book 10.3.6) - 1995

22. It is a team technical for having more than five team members participating simultaneously.
22. True - Section 1 Article 6 - 2003

23. It is a player technical for having more than five team members participating simultaneously.
23. False - Section 1 Article 6 - 2002

24. The technical foul for an excess time-out is charged to the player who made the request.
24. False - Section 1 Article 7 - 1992

25. A technical foul for an excessive time-out is charged directly to the player or coach who requested the time-out.
25. False - Section 1 Article 7 - 2007

26. The penalty for requesting an excess time-out is two free throws plus the ball for the division-line throw-in.
26. True - Section 1 Article 7 - 2005

27. If all players do not return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission, a technical foul is also indirectly to the head coach.
27. False - Section 1 Article 9 - 1996

28. Team A is thirty seconds late in starting the 2nd half. Ruling: Team A is assessed a technical
28. False - Section 1 Article 5a - 1996

29. After a timeout, it is Team A's ball for a throw-in; however, only four Team A players are on the court. The officials do not recognize the shortfall before the ball is live. Ruling: A technical foul is charged as soon as the officials recognize the error.
29. True - Section 1 Article 9 - 2002

30. A number of substitutions are made at one time and A5 thinks he has been substituted for. Team B is bringing the ball up the floor when A5 realizes he is suppose to be on the court. A5 jumps onto the court to make the fifth player for Team A. Ruling: Technical foul to A5.
30. True - Section 1 Article 9 - 1994

31. Substitute, A7, reports to the table during play. After a time out is granted, A7 joins her teammates in a huddle near the Team A bench. When the ball is put back in play for a throw-in, A5 remains on the bench, thinking that she has been replaced by A7. The ball is put in play with only 4 Team A players on the court. A5 then realizes she should be in the game and sprints down the court to join her teammates. RULING: Team technical foul on Team A for failing to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time.
31. True - Section 1 Article 9 - 2007

32. Substitute Al enters the court without reporting to the scorer's table. The infraction is discovered before the ball becomes live. Ruling: Technical foul.
32. True - Section 2 Article 1 (Case Book 10.2.1 sit: a play a) - 1996

33. During the first dead ball after the game has started it is discovered that B3 is wearing illegal shorts. Ruling: B3 is directed to leave the game and must be replaced for wearing illegal shorts.
33. False - Section 3 Article 2 penalty

34. Once a player is penalized with a technical foul for wearing an illegal number, that player may wear the number without penalty.
34. True - Section 3 Article 2 penalty - 1992

35. The numbers on a player's jersey is a different color or style on the front than the back.Ruling: Legal Jersey.
35. False - Section 3 Article 2 penalty

36. There is no penalty if the number on a player's shirt is of a different color or style on the front and back.
36. False - Section 3 Article 2 penalty

37. A player shall not delay returning to the court after legally being out of bounds.
37. True - Section 3 Article 3

38. It is a violation for a player to delay returning to the court after legally being out of bounds.
38. False - Section 3 Article 3

39. A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. A1 completes the throw-in to A2 and then A1 takes multiple steps along the endline prior to coming inbounds behind a screen set by A3. Ruling: A1 is charged with a technical foul.
39. True - Section 3 Article 3 (Case Book 10.3.3 sit: a) - 2005

40. A1 has the ball out-of-bounds for a throw-in. A1 completes the throw-in to A2 and then takes four or five steps along the end line prior to coming inbounds behind a screen set by A3 and A4. A1 gets a return pass from A2 and takes an unchallenged try for goal. Ruling: A1 is charged with a technical foul for failing to move directly into the court after the throw-in.
40. True - Section 3 Article 3 (Case Book 10.3.3 sit: a) - 2005

41. Only offensive players may grasp the ring to prevent an injury.
41. False - Section 3 Article 4 exception - 1992

42. The head coach will lose the right to the coaching box when a player is charged with a pre-game dunk.
42. True - Section 3 Article 4 penalty (Case Book 10.3.4 sit: c) - 1994

43. If A1 grasps the ring to prevent injury, no technical foul is charged.
43. True - Section 3 Article 4 see exception - 1996

44. A pregame dunk by Al is a technical foul charged to Al and indirectly to the head coach.
44. True - Section 3 Article 4 see Technical-Foul Pebalty Summary - 1997

45. A pre-game dunk by A1 is a technical foul charged to A1 and directly to the head coach.
45. False - Section 3 Article 4 (Case Book 10.3.4 sit: c) - 1995

46. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate is a technical foul.
46. True - Section 3 Article 5b (Case Book 10.3.5 play b) - 2005

47. A1 drives for a lay-up and B1attempts to block the shot. B1 just misses the ball but strikes the backboard on the follow through. RULING: Since the striking of the backboard was in an attempt to block the shot and not intentional, a technical foul should not be called.
47. True - Section 3 Article 5b - 2006

48. A4 is charged with a personal foul. Team A requests a time-out and during this time-out, A4 directs profanity to one of the officials. RULING: A4 is issued a technical foul. Since A4 was in the game, it is not indirectly charged to the head coach.
48. True - Section 3 Article 7 Penalty - 2006

49. Al has just committed her 5th foul and she is leaving the court. But before the coach has been notified, A1 makes an obscene gesture to the crowd. Ruling: A technical is charged to the player and indirectly coach.
49. False - Section 3 Article 7c - 2005

50. B1 holds or waves a hand or hands in front of the eyes or near the eyes of A2 who does not have possession of the ball. Ruling: Legal.
50. False - Section 3 Article 7d - 2004

51. B1 holds or waves a hand or hands in front of the eyes or near the eyes of A1 who has possession of the ball. Ruling: Illegal; this unsporting act is penalized with a technical foul.
51. True - Section 3 Article 7d - 2004

52. Flopping is an example of an unsporting act
52. True - Section 3 Article 7f - 2004

53. Faking being fouled is not example of an unsportsmanlike foul.
53. False - Section 3 Article 7f - 1994,97,2001

54. A player shall not remove the jersey and/or pants/skirt within the visual confines of the playing area.
54. True - Section 3 Article 7h - 2005

55. Holding the uniform jersey out from the chest area to display the team name to the opponent or fans shall result in a technical foul being assessed.
55. True - Section 3 Article 7h - 1996,2005

56. A1 dunks over B1 and then taunts B1. B1 retaliates by punching A1. Ruling: Both players are disqualified for fighting and charged with a flagrant technical foul.
56. True - Section 3 Article 9 & note - 1995,02

57. If A1 makes a degrading remark to B1 that causes B1 to take a swing at A1, both are disqualified for fighting.
57. True - Section 3 Article 9 penalty: 9 & Rule 4.18 - 1995

58. The second technical foul charged to any bench personnel other than the head coach is flagrant.
58. False - Section 3 note after Article 11 - 1992

59. A single flagrant foul or the second technical foul charged to personnel, other than the head coach, results in disqualification of offender.
59. True - Section 3 note after Article 11 - 1995

60. The penalty for a single flagrant personal or flagrant technical foul is two free throws and disqualification plus awarding the ball to the opponents for a throw-in.
60. True - Section 3 Penalty - 2005

61. Al and A2 lock arms in an effort to set a double screen against B1. Ruling: Technical foul on Team A.
61. True - Section 1 Article 11 penalty & Rule 4.24 - 1997

62. It is not a technical foul to commit basket interference during a free throw attempt.
62. True - Section 3 Article 10 penalty - 2002

63. B2 commits goaltending on A1's final free throw attempt: Ruling: Score the free throw by A1 and a tech foul is charged to B2.
63. True - Section 3 Article 10 penalty - 2002

64. A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in when B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1's hands. Team B previously been warned for interfering with the ball following a goal. RULING: Team B is charged with a technical foul for a second delay violation. Team A is awarded two free throws and a division line throw-in.
64. True - Section 3 Article 11 - 2007

65. The horn sounds to end the third period. As the teams are heading to their benches. A1 and B1 verbally taunt each other. RULING: Double technical foul charged to A1 and B1. Also charge both head coaches with an indirect technical foul.
65. True - Case Book Play 10.4.1 Situation B - 2007-8 Case Book

66. Team A bench player is assessed a technical foul. The head coach is assessed an indirect technical and loses the use of the coaches box.
66. True - Section 4 Article 1 penalty. 1,2,3 & section 5 note 1 - 2002,3

67. Profanity on the part of a participant, coach, or member of the team is considered to be an unsporting act, whether or not the profanity is directed at any individual or merely as a means of "letting off steam."
67. True - Section 4 Article 1b - 2005

68. Bench personnel shall not attempt to influence an officials' decision, or object to an officials decision by rising from the bench or using gestures.
68. True - Section 4 Article 1b & e - 2005

69. A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play, is cursed by the head coach of Team B. Ruling: The official shall blow the ball dead immediately.
69. False - Section 4 Article 1c - 1997

70. Objecting to an official's decision by rising from the bench or using gestures is an unsporting foul.
70. True - Section 4 Article 1e - 2005

71. An assistant coach for Team A yells at an official for not calling a traveling violation on Team B. RULING: A direct technical foul is called on the assistant coach and an indirect technical foul on the head coach. The head coach loses his coaching-box privileges.
71. True - Section 4 Article 1e penalty - 2007

72. If a substitute is charged with a technical foul for not being seated on the bench, it is also charged to the head coach.
72. True - Section 4 Article 1g penalty - 1992

73. A2 commits his fifth foul and is disqualified. A2 sits on the bench and removes his jersey. RULING: Technical foul on A2.
73. True - Section 4 Article 1h - 2006

74. The head coach may enter the court to express his displeasure with the officials without receiving a technical foul.
74. False - Section 4 Article 2 - 2005

75. A coach may enter the court to attend an injured player when beckoned by an official.
75. True - Section 4 Article 2 - 2006

76. The Team B coach is observed smoking a cigarette between the 1st & 2nd quarter standing in the bench area. Ruling: A team technical
76. False - Section 4 Article 3 - 1996

77. A1 and B1 get into a shoving match on the court. Three substitutes from each bench come onto the floor to watch but do not get involved. Ruling each team is charged with one technical foul even though more than on substitute came onto the floor. The foul is also charged--indirectly to the head coach. Penalize other infractions as required.
77. False - Section 4 Article 4 Penalties - 1994

78. A1 and B1 begin fighting while the ball is live. Substitute A6 enters the court followed by B6. A6 does not participate, in the fight but B6 does. Ruling: Eject A1, B1, A6 and B6, charge each team with 2 fouls award no free throws and use the possession arrow to resume play.
78. False - Section 4 Article 4 penalty - 2003

79. If two bench personnel and the coach of Team B leave bench during a fight, Team A is awarded two free throws and the ball as penalty.
79. True - Section 4 Article 4 penalty - 1996

80. It appears a fight may occur on the playing court when A6 and_A7 leave their bench. Ruling: All players leaving the bench are assessed flagrant fouls and disqualified, and Team A's head coach is assessed a maximum of one indirect technical foul (regardless of the number of players leaving the bench); Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball for a division line throw-in.
80. True - Section 4 Article 4 Technical foul summary - 2004

81. It appears a fight may occur on the playing court when A6 and B6 leave their respective benches. Ruling: All players leaving the bench are assessed flagrant fouls and disqualified, and each coach is assessed a maximum of one indirect technical foul (regardless of the number of players leaving the bench) no free throws are awarded and the ball is put into play with the alternating-possession procedure opposite the table.
81. False - Section 4 Article 4 Technical foul summary - 2004

82. Technical fouls charged to the head coach or bench personnel carry a two shot penalty.
82. True - Section 4 & 5 all penalties - 2001

83. The head coach is responsible for the conduct of all bench personnel.
83. True - Section 4 1st paragraph - 1997

84. Team A's trainer, sitting at the end of the bench, throws a towel onto the court in reaction to a call by an official. Ruling: A technical foul is called on the bench. Award two foul shots to Team B. The head coach of Team A is assessed an indirect technical foul as a result of the trainer's actions.
84. True - Section 4 Penalty - 2005

85. An indirect technical foul is assessed to the head coach when bench personnel are charged with a technical foul.
85. True - Section 4 Penalty - 2006

86. A5 is whistled for his/her fifth foul. A6 has already reported to the scorer to enter at the next opportunity prior to the stoppage for the foul. The official properly notifies the coach A5 has been disqualified. Prior to the starting of the 30 second interval, the coach informs the official that A6 is A5's replacement. Ruling: No 30 second interval for the replacement of the disqualified player.
86. True - Section 5 (Case Book 10.5.1 sit:b-play b) - 2003

87. The coach is allowed to go to the table to ask for information on the number of fouls during a dead ball.
87. False - Section 5 Article 1 a & b (Case Book 10.5 d) - 1995

88. If the coach fails to replace a disqualified player within 30 seconds, it is a technical foul charged indirectly to the head coach.
88. False - Section 5 Article 1c - 1994

89. After a head coach has lost his coaching-box privileges, he may legally use the coaching box to request a time-out.
89. True - Section 5 Article 2 - 2007

90. The head coach may stand in front of his seat or within the confines of the coach's box to give instructions to his players or substitutes.
90. True - Section 5 Article 2a - 1992

91. A5 has just received his/her fifth foul of the game. A5 is erroneously permitted to remain in the game for another two minutes before the scorer realizes the mistake. Ruling: Direct technical foul assessed to Team A's coach.
91. False - Section 5 Article 3 (Case Book 10.5 3 play a) - 2003

92. Al who has been disqualified subsequently reports to the scorer. The official beckons A6 to enter. Prior to the ball becoming live, the officials detect that A6 had previously been disqualified and judged this to be an intentional attempt to circumvent the rules. Ruling: A6 is directed to the bench with no penalty imposed.
92. False - Section 5 Article 3 (Case Book 10.5 3 play b) - 1997

93. The guard is responsible for contact if the dribbler has been able to get his or her head and shoulders past the guard's torso.
93. True - Section 6 Article 8 - 2007

94. A1 is fouled in a successful 3-point attempt. Ruling: The 3 points are scored plus A1 will be awarded one free throw.
94. True - Summary of penalties # 2 - 1992

95. A1 is on a fast break and is intentionally fouled by B2. The try is successful. RULING: The basket is counted. Award A1 two free throws and give Team A the ball for a designated spot throw-in at the location closest to the foul.
95. True - Summary of penalties # 4 - 2007

96. A1 is fouled on an unsuccessful three-point attempt. A1 is awarded three free throws.
96. True - Summary of penalties 5b - 1992

97. If B1 and B2 commit multiple fouls on A1 during an unsuccessful three point try, A1 is awarded four free throws.
97. True - summary of penalties 6-a-2 - 2001

98. B1 and B2 foul A1 at the same time while A1 is driving down the lane. Team A is not in the bonus. Ruling: No free throws are awarded to A1.
98. False - Summary of Penalties 6a & b - 2001

99. When bench personnel leave the bench area to participate in a fight, all players are ejected and an indirect technical foul is charged to the head coach for each participant.
99. True - Summary of Penalties 8b(2) - 2006

100. The coach requests an excessive time out. Ruling: Technical foul and an indirect technical on the coach for calling the time out.
100. False - Technical foul penalty summary - adm - 2002

101. A bench conduct technical foul on A6 is charged to the offender and directly to the head coach.
101. False - Technical foul penalty summary - bench - 2002,03

102. A direct technical foul shall be charged to the head coach for permitting a disqualified player to play.
102. True - Technical foul penalty summary - head coach - 2003


To download a copy of these questions and answers to your computer, click here.