2014-2015 - Plays of the Week - Issue 10

"Working together, we will all get better."

The plays/questions described below occurred recently and are provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

Play #1 - A-1, in the backcourt, attempts a pass to A-4 near the division line. B-4 jumps from Team A's backcourt and intercepts the ball landing first with his right foot in his frontcourt and then his left foot comes down in his backcourt. The official rules this a backcourt violation. Was the official correct?

Answer: The official was NOT correct. B-4 was a defender and as such, since he secured control of the ball while airborne, he is entitled to land with one or both feet in backcourt. It does not matter which foot comes down first. (References: Rule 9.9.3)

Play #2 - A-1 is attempting a free throw. After A-1 releases the ball, B-4, from a marked lane space, boxes out A-1 by stepping across the free throw line before the ball contacts the ring and making incidental contact with the shooter. The free throw is unsuccessful. The Center official rules a violation on B-4 and awards A-1 a substitute free throw. Was the official correct?

Answer: The official was correct. The rule change this season allows players in marked lane spaces to enter the lane upon the release of the free throw. However, no player may penetrate the free throw line in either direction until the ball contacts the ring or backboard. (References: Rule 9.1.3g, NFHS Interpretation)

Play #3 - A-3 attempts a three point goal. While the try is in flight, A-5 and B-5 are whistled for a double foul trying to get position for the rebound. The ball hits the ring, bounces up onto the backboard and is on the ring when A-4 tips the ball into the basket. What is the correct procedure?

Answer: The double foul by A-5 and B-5 created a point of interruption play. The point of interruption is the point at which the ball became dead. In this case this is the basket interference violation by A-4. The officials should report the double foul and then award the ball to Team B for a designated spot throw-in on the endline as a result of the violation by A-4. (References: Rules 4.36.2b, Case Book Play 4.19.8 Situation C (a))

2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #9
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #8
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #7
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #6
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #5
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #4
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #3
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #2
2014-2015 Plays of the Week - Issue #1



Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Plays of the Week